Six-member Committee to probe Youth Parliament activities | Daily News

Six-member Committee to probe Youth Parliament activities

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe addressing the first meeting of the third Youth Parliament yesterday. Picture by Ranjith Asanka


A six member committee headed by Education Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam was appointed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe yesterday to probe the activities of the Youth Parliament and recommend measures to be adopted by the government for the progress and welfare of the Sri Lankan youth generation.

The other members of the committee are National Policy and Economic Affairs State Minister Niroshan Perera, Mahaweli and Environment Affairs Deputy Minister Anuradha Jayaratne, NYSC Chairman W.G.S. Erandika and the Speaker

and the Prime Minister of the Youth Parliament. The Prime Minister announced the appointment of this committee when he presided over the inauguration of the first meeting of the third Youth Parliament at the Youth Parliament building at the Maharagama Youth Services Council premises yesterday.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe who announced that Rs. 250 million had been allocated as funding for the activities of the Youth Parliament next year, said the Youth Parliament should function in close collaboration with youth groups from rural level."For the first time in Asia, two main parties have joined hands to establish a National Unity Government in Sri Lanka to chart a better future for youth establish democratic institutions and enhance powers of Parliament," the Prime Minister said.

He said Parliament had been asked to reduce the powers of the Executive Presidency and this would result in the strengthening of Parliamentary powers and duties and the Youth Parliament having to perform a greater task.

The proposed Committee system of Parliament would be implemented from the beginning of January next year and Ministers would be appointed as observers of the working of these Committees. A budget office would be established in Parliament since financial control is vested in Parliament.

He said nearly 10 Independent Commissions had been set up and officials appointed to them so far.

The Prime Minister said there were nearly 14,000 Grama Niladhari divisions in the country and they would be clustered into 2,500 Grama Rajya Centres to foster rural development.

He said the Youth Parliament could implement social media sessions which are not found in the National Parliament and also assist the government's programme to create one million jobs. 


Add new comment