Landslide warning issued | Daily News


Landslide warning issued

The National Building Research Organization (NBRO) today extended the landslide hazards warning issued 10 districts – Galle, Matale, Ratnapura, Kalutara, Matara, Kegalle, Colombo, Kurunegala, Nuwara Eliya and Kandy.

Red alert Landslide warnings in the following areas.

Ayagama, Ratnapura, Elapatha, Kalawana and Kiriella Divisional Secretariat Divisions and surrounding areas.

Amber alerts have been issued for the following areas.

Galle District: Baddegama Neluwa and Thawalama

Ratnapura District: Openayake, Balangoda, Kuruwita, Eheliyagoda, Pelmadulla and Nivithigala

Kalutara District: Agalawaththa, Palindanuwara, Walallawita, Bulathsinhala and Ingiriya

Matara District: Pitabeddara and Kotapola

Kegalle District: Deraniyagala, Bulathkohupitiya, Warakapola Rambukkana, Galigamuwa, Kegalle and Dehiowita

Kurunegala District: Mawathagama and Polgahawela

Nuwara Eliya District: Ambagamuwakorale

People living in these areas are advised to be ready to evacuate to a safe location if the need arises.

Yellow alerts have been issued for the following areas.:

Galle District: Galle Four Gravets, Akmeemana, Elpitiya, Niyagama, Bope Poddala and Nagoda

Matale District: Ukuwela

Kalutara District: Horana, and Mathugama

Colombo District: Seethawaka

Kegalle District: Aranayake and Yatiyanthota

Kandy District: Gangaihalakorale, Thumpane, Kandy Four Gravets & Gangawatakorale and Pathahewaheta

Nuwara Eliya District: Kotmale

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment