Home » Lanka final ODI squad for Zimbabwe series

Lanka final ODI squad for Zimbabwe series

by Gayan Abeykoon
January 4, 2024 1:26 am 0 comment
ODI Captain Kusal Mendis

Ragama CC all-rounder Janith Liyanage has been included in the Sri Lanka 17-member ODI squad. Sahan Arachchige, spinners Akila Dananjaya and Jeffrey Vandersay are also part of the final squad, as announced by Chairman of the Selection Committee Upul Tharanga yesterday at the SLC headquarters.

Janith Liyanage the in-form all-rounder who has played only 3 T20 internationals, secured his place with an impressive knock of 70 in the practice game at R.Premadasa International Stadium last Tuesday night. The squad approved by the Sports Minister, includes the in-form opener Avishka Fernando.

Kusal Mendis has been captain with Charith Asalanka as his deputy skipper, and Dasun Shanaka as a player in the squad. Wanindu Hasaranga is also included, with his fitness subject to assessment for the ODI games against Zimbabwe. However, Wanindu has been already named for T-20 captain and showcased good form by taking 3 for 22 for CCC.

The 17-member Sri Lanka ODI squad is as follows:

Kusal Mendis (Capt), Charith Asalanka (V.Capt), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Janith Liyanage, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Wanindu Hasaranga (subject to fitness). (D.R.)

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Sri Lanka’s most Trusted and Innovative media services provider


@2024 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Lakehouse IT