Home » World Cup winning players at inaugural double wicket tourney

World Cup winning players at inaugural double wicket tourney

by Gayan Abeykoon
December 4, 2023 1:28 am 0 comment
Lasantha Amarasinghe Chairman of Chance sports handing over sponsorship cheque to President of Lanka Heritage Cricket Club Jayantha Seneviratne.

Former National cricketers, including four members from the 1996 World Cup winning team will take part at the inaugural ‘double wicket’ tournament, organised by Lanka Heritage Cricket Club which will take place on December 16 and 17 at the BOI ground in Katunayake.

World Cup winning team captain Arjuna Ranatunga and deputy skipper Aravinda de Silva are one pair of this double wicket tournament while World Cup Most Valuable Player Sanath Jayasuriya and Upul Chandana are the other key pair of this double wicket tournament. These two pairs will be the main attraction of this inaugural tournament.

The first of its kind cricket tourney to be held among former cricketers who are over the age category of 50 and above will see 17 teams vie for the title, under four groups said Jayantha Seneviratne the President of Lanka Heritage Cricket Club.

The two-day competition is sponsored by Mclarens Group’s Mobil and 3M, KBSL Information Technologies, Singer Sri Lanka and Chance Sports the leading sports Equipments provider of Sri Lanka.

We formed Lanka Heritage CC couple of years back with the intention of gathering all former cricketers from both genders. Already we have a membership of around 60 male cricketers and 35 female cricketers, who had played the sport at the highest levels. The aim is to harness the expertise of these cricketers and educate youngsters,” stated Jayantha Seneviratne, the President of Lanka Heritage CC.

Teams have been drafted into three groups of four each and a group that includes five teams. The Group ‘A’ includes 96 World Cup team ‘A’, Chance Sports, Vintage CC ,Old Bens and Kurunegala Youth CC. Group ‘B’ includes Colombo Masters ‘A’, Moratuwa SC, Old Antonians and Old Joes while Group ‘C’ will feature Colombo Masters ‘B’, MCA, Old Nalandians and Olcott Sports Foundation. Group ‘D’ includes 96 World Cup team ‘B’, Kotte Masters, PCU and Singha SC, Ambalangoda.

The four top teams of the league stage will advance into the semi-final stage, which will be followed by the grand final. Each team will feature two players, who will bat and bowl two overs with the organisers providing nine fielders from a pool of 25 designated fielders for all games.

The tournament will be conducted in accordance to the playing conditions of the International Cricket Council, says Basil Perera, the Tournament Committee Chairman.

Dhammika Ratnaweera

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Sri Lanka’s most Trusted and Innovative media services provider


@2024 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Lakehouse IT