Home » Joes, Colombo HFC, Wennappuwa triumph
18th ESOFT Blue and Gold Hockey 7s

Joes, Colombo HFC, Wennappuwa triumph

by Gayan Abeykoon
August 14, 2023 1:00 am 0 comment

Undefeated St Joseph’s College Colombo and Holy Family Girls School Wennappuwa rose as the triumphant victors at the 18th ESOFT Blue & Gold Hockey Sevens hosted by the Royal College Hockey Club, ended at the Reid Avenue yesterday.

In an unprecedented achievement, the Darley Road School’s hockey team secured their first-ever title in the 18-year long Blue & Gold Hockey 7s. They overcame the formidable hockey giants, St. Thomas College Matale, with a resounding 2-0 victory. Their halftime lead of 1-0 showcased their strategic prowess. The goals came from the sticks of Adrien Fernando and Abner Fernando, propelling their team to glory.

In the semi-finals, they narrowly outperformed this year’s favorites, Kingswood College, Kandy, securing a tight 1-0 victory. In the quarter-finals, they demonstrated their resilience, prevailing over Ananda College through penalty strokes with a 2-0 scoreline, following a 1-1 draw.

Joes’ journey commenced in the pre quarter finals, where they clinched a hard-fought 3-2 win against Vidyartha College, Kandy.

During the group stages, Darley Road stickers asserted their dominance, securing a commanding 6-0 win against Maris Stella College, Thimbirigaskatuwa, and playing to a goalless draw against St. Aloysius College, Galle.

In the girls’ Cup finals, Holy Family Convent Wennappuwa delivered an impressive performance, securing a 2-0 victory against Ladies’ College, Colombo. Remarkably, the Wennappuwa team managed to score both of their goals within the first three minutes of the game, showcasing their swift and strategic gameplay.

Best Player: Abner Fernando (St Joseph’s College)/Ishara Fernando (Holy Family Girls School)

Best Goalkeeper: AB Gamagedara (St Thomas’ College Matale)/Dehara Senaratne (Ladies’ College)

Cup Champions:

Champion: St Joseph’s College/Holy Family Girls School, Wennappuwa

Runners-up: St Thomas’ College Matale/Ladies’ College

2nd Runners-up: St Thomas’ College Mt Lavinia/Swarnamali Girls College Kandy

3rd Runners-up: Kingswood College/Christ Church College

Plate Championship:

Champion: Ananda College/Seethadevi Balika Vidyalaya

Runners-up: Zahira College Matale/Visakha Vidyalaya

2nd Runners-up: Hindu College Matale/Bishop’s College

Bowl Championship:

Champion: Trinity College/Panadura Balika Maha Vidyalaya

Runners-up: Vidyartha College/Yasodara Balika Vidyalaya Colombo

2nd Runners-up: Vijaya College/St Anthony’s Girls College Katugastota

Sajeewa Jayakody

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Sri Lanka’s most Trusted and Innovative media services provider


@2024 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Lakehouse IT