Thinura, Chanithma clinch Yeti Open squash titles | Daily News

Thinura, Chanithma clinch Yeti Open squash titles

Thinura Randima of Nalanda College and Chanithma Sinaly of Sirimavo Bandaranayake Vidyalaya clinched the Boys’ and Girls’ Under-19 title respectively at the inaugural Yeti Open Junior Squash Championships, which concluded at the SSC Courts in Maitland Place.

Bottom seed Randima defeated the top seed Nevindu Lakman from D.S Senanayake College in the Boys’ Under-19 final while Sinlay cruised to a comfortable victory over Anargi Perera of Visaka Vidyalaya in the Girls’ Under-19 final.

Lakman after winning the first two games in a tight contest could not put the finishing touches from there onwards as Randina came back strongly to clinch the last three sets. However, in the last set Nevindu after trailing 5-10 at one point, took the match to the wire fighting back till 9-10 but just couldn’t get the better out of Randina who went on to win the final set 11-9 and with it the match which lasted for close to 40 minutes.

In contrast, Chanithma went on to win the Girls’ Under-19 final in straight sets even though Anargi provided stiff opposition and kept the game alive till the last minute. All top three winners in respective categories walked away with valuable trophies and certificates while certificates were awarded to top eight players in all age group categories.


(Girls’ Under-11 Novices): Runner-up: Lindi Perera. Winner: Taveesha Goonasekera.

(Boys’ Under-11 Novices): Runner-up: Nisai Munasinghe.

Winner: Nevan Rubasinghe.

(Boys’ Under-15 Novices): Runner-up: Dhakshina Perera.

Winner: Sandanu Gunarathna.

(Girls’ Under-9): Runner-up: Thinalee Daswatte. Winner: Nethanya Wickramasinghe.

(Boys’ Under-9): Runner-up: Ranuk Mendis. Winner: Danuja Sethsara.

(Girls’ Under-11): Runner-up: Chanumi Nimthara. Winner: Navya Ganegoda.

(Boys’ Under-11): Runner-up: Akayne Konara. Winner: Harshitha Karunathilaka.

(Girls’ Under-13): Runner-up: Ifra Booso. Winner: Nirushi Wickramasinghe.

(Boys’ Under-13): Runner-up: Linuka Silva. Winner: Sandira Dassanayake.

(Girls’ Under-15): Runner-up: Kavithma Silva. Winner: Nirushi Wickramasinghe.

(Boys’ Under-15): Runner-up: M. B. B. Nanayakkara. Winner: Matheesha Wijesekara.

(Girls’ Under-17): Runner-up: Adhithi Gunasekera (Ladies’ College). Winner: R. I. Wood.

(Boys’ Under-17):

Runner-up: Mohamed Rilwan. Winner: Matheesha Wijesekara.

(Girls’ Under-19):

Runner-up: Anargi Perera. Winner: Chanithma Sinaly.

(Boys’ Under-19):

Runner-up: Nevindu Lakman. Winner: Thinura Randina.

Add new comment