Interim Budget passed with majority | Daily News

Interim Budget passed with majority

120 MPs vote in favour, five against while 43 abstain

The Appropriation (Amendment) Bill for the remainder of the fiscal year 2022 was passed by the House yesterday (2) with a majority of 115 votes.

120 MPs voted in favour and five MPs against the Interim Budget 2022 while 43 abstained from voting.

The Interim Budget election was held when National People’s Power (NPP) MP Anura Dissanayake called for a division.

The five MPs who voted against the Interim Budget included National People’s Power MPs Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Vijitha Herath, Harini Amarasooriya, All Ceylon Tamil Congress MP Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam and Ahila Illankai Thamil Congress MP S. Kajendran.

The MPs of Samagi Jana Balawegaya, the 13 Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna MPs lead by Dallus Alahapperuma and a group of independent MPs led by Wimal Weerawansa include those who abstained.

Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, on behalf of the Finance Minister presented the Appropriation (Amendment) Bill to amend the Appropriation Act No. 30 of 2021 to Parliament for the First Reading on August 9, 2022.

On August 30, President Ranil Wickremesinghe, in his capacity as the Finance, Economic Stabilization and National Policies Minister delivered the interim budget speech.

Add new comment