Eight member Committee to recommend CEB restructuring | Daily News

Eight member Committee to recommend CEB restructuring

An eight-member Committee has been appointed to propose recommendations on restructuring the Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB), Power and Energy Minister Kanchana Wijesekara said.

He said the Committee is expected to submit their recommendations within a month.

The Committee comprises former Finance Ministry Secretary Dr. R.H.S.Samaratunga, former Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB) Chairman M.M.C.Ferdinando, former CEB acting General Manager Dr. Susantha Perera, Board of Investment (BoI) former Chairman Thilan Wijesinghe, Petroleum Development Authority Chairman and Colombo Port City Economic Commission Director General Saliya Wickramasuriya, former Legal Consultant to the Public Enterprise Reforms Commission Nihal Jayawardane, PC, former Senior State Counsel at the Attorney General’s Department’s Harsha Fernando and Power and Energy Ministry Director Chandana Wijesinghe.

Cabinet granted approval to commence the restructuring of the CEB on August 1. Prior to the Cabinet approval, Minister Wijesekara tweeted “The CEB needs restructuring.I hope to get the approval of the Cabinet to commence the unbinding of the CEB with the generation, transmission and supply to be separated”.


Add new comment