Yasitha wins men’s crown at Colombo c’ships | Daily News

Yasitha wins men’s crown at Colombo c’ships

Yasitha de Silva once again produced his power play when he defeated defending champion Thehan Wijemanne with hard fought three setter game to clinch men's championship at the Colombo Tennis Championships which is now in progress at SLTA courts.

Yasitha the champion National player from MAS Holdings lost his first set 2/6 but he used his experience to get back to back two wins in the following sets 6/3 and 7/5 to clinch the title.

Meanwhile Saajida Razick, Savini Jayasuriya, Vishmi Serasinghe and Dinethya Dharmaratne were qualified to play at the semi finals of the open girls event which scheduled to be played today. Saajida will meet Dinethya Dharmaratne in the first semi final while Savini will battle with Vishmi in the second semi final today. (D.R)


Women open Quarter final

Saajida Razick beat Nesangi Hemakumara 6/2 6/1
Savini Jayasuriya beat Nelani Jayasuriya 6/2 6/1

Vishmi Serasinghe beat Anitra Dharmarathne 6/1 6/1
Dinethya Dharmaratne beat Hasali Gajaba 6/4 6/1

Men's open final

Yashitha de Silva (MAS Holdings) beat Thehan Wijemanne (Royal) 2/6 6/3 7/5

Add new comment