Galle YMBA Administrative Board changed | Daily News

Galle YMBA Administrative Board changed

The election of the Board of Administration of Galle Young Men’s Buddhist Association (YMBA) was held recently under the supervision of Galle Four Gravets Divisional Secretary I. Himali Rathnaweera at the Galle Fort Court.

Three groups contested for the election and the group led by Attorney Premarathna Thirangama secured the highest number of member votes and was elected as the Board of Administration for the ensuing year. The new board consists of 27 members.

At the inaugural Administrative Board meeting on May 31, Premarthana Thirangama was elected as the President of the Association while Journalist Mahinda P. Liyanage was elected as the General Secretary. T.N.Kandambi, Attorney K.P.D. Gunarathne, Metiwalage Milton, H.N. Ariyasena, and Samantha Dinesh Kanakarathna were elected as Chief Treasurer, Deputy President, Vice President, Deputy Secretary, Vice Secretary, and Deputy Treassurer.

The other Administrative Board members are A.D. Bandupala, Linton Sugathadasa, K.K.G. Bandupala, R.P.C.Ariyarathna, Gamini Nanayakkara , Chandrasiri K Gamage, Attorney T.B.S.Priyadarshana and Vincent Nanayakkara

It was the first time in the 106 year history of Galle Y.M.B.A, a journalist was elected to the post of General Secretary.

Galle Four Gravets Divisional Secretary thanked all parties concerned for supporting in holding the election peacefully and transparently. She also urged the membership to amend the Constitution to extend the official period of the Board of Administration from one to at least three years as one year is not enough to perform its obligations properly.


Add new comment