Luxman Wijesuriya re-elected as Chess Federation President | Daily News

Luxman Wijesuriya re-elected as Chess Federation President

Chess Federation President Luxman Wijesuriya (third from left) addressing the gathering after the CFSL election at CFSL Headquarters. Also in the picture are Erosh Jayasinghe (Treasurer), Kanishka Welipitya (Secretary) and Deepthi Hewageegana (Deputy President).

Luxman Wijesuriya the former National Chess Champion was re-elected as the President of the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka(CFSL) at their Annual General Meeting held at CFSL Headquarters on Wednesday.

Luxman Wijesuriya is a keen chess promoter in Sri Lanka having National and International experience as a former player winning several medals at the South Asian and Asian level. As an administrator, Luxman was a former Secretary of the CFSL while he is currently serving as the General Secretary of the South Asian Chess Council and the Commonwealth Chess Association and a Vice President of the Asian Chess Federation as well.

Winning the Sri Lanka National Championship twice in 1996 and 2000 and participating in a staggering eight Olympiads, and dozens of other international tournaments representing the national team Luxman dedicated his life to chess.

Luxman fondly remembers the 1995 Asian Team Championships as one of his favourite events, where he won a board prize with 5.5/7.

The Sri Lankan team beat a very strong Austrian team of four 2400+ IMs because of his point and 1.5 more from the Athurupane brothers. In his capacity Wijesuriya is doing his best to promote this sport in Sri Lanka as well as the Asian region.

During the Global Pandemic period, Luxman headed his team to conduct online chess tournaments both at domestic and international level.

He was keen to conduct South Asian and Asian tournament with the support of South Asian and Asian Chess Federations and Sri Lankan chess players were lucky to take part in more tournaments with the assistance from President Luxman Wijesuriya.

Following are the officials of the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka


President - Luxman Wijesuriya

Deputy President – Deepthi Hewageegana

Secretary - Kanishka Welipitiya

Treasurer – Erosh Jayasinghe

Vice Presidents – ThushanWickramaarachch, Malith Akalanka, Buddhi Alahakoon, Chinthaka Weerasinghe, R S Kalugampitiya, Dayal Siriwardena,- BuddhiPanagoda

Tournament Secretary - NiroshanChathuranga

Asst. Secretary - J K C Ketalawala

Asst. Treasurer - Rajiv Thilakarathne


Executive Committee Members: Werochana Perera, Santhiribalan Nirmalarajah Ayodhya Liyanagedara, Washini Chamithri Lalantha Mudalige (The Sri Lanka Schools Chess Association will nominate the Vice President to represent Sri Lanka Schools Chess.)


Add new comment