Kandy Sports Club win League Title for a record 22nd time | Daily News

Kandy Sports Club win League Title for a record 22nd time

The Kandy Sports Club rugby team emerged champions of the A Division league tournament and Kandy’s rugby lovers are planning to felicitate the champion side.

The most wins of the rugby league title is achieved by Kandy Sports Club since 1994,that is the year old Rajan Indrajith Bandaranayake led the side and players gave of their best.

This club has been the most successful club in the Sri Lanka Rugby Championship, winning 22 league titles in the last twenty eight years in the period between 1994 to 2022, which is the most wins by any club since the expanded competition commenced in 1950. The years they won are 1994,1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004,2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2015, 2016,2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2022..

Kandys rise began with the arrival of one of the major rugby promoters who gave a big hand for the success that is former Royal College, CR & FC, Colombo Clubs and Sri Lanka rugby player Malik Devapriya Samarawickrama. His contribution for Kandy Sports Club should be weighed in gold.

This would remind players of their responsibility for ensuring that rugby is always played in a truly sportsman like manner by the players of this club, due to his backing. Everyone in Kandy is delighted that after Malik put his hand up for this club it has gone from strength to strength

Malik was the key figure behind everything as Kandy SC won the Clifford Cup for the first time in 1992 and the League for the first time in 1994.

Malik deserves to be called Mr. Rugby of Kandy SC. After leaving Royal College where he learnt the rudiments of the game he excelled in the inter-club rugby as a famed scrum half. He went on to play for CR and FC,Colombo Clubs and Sri Lanka. His playing days at Royal College were from 1966 to 1968.

Kandy SC is a club with a long and proud history and that history may have counted very little if not for Malik . It took 42 years for the Nittawela club to win a trophy and become almost an invincible force in the rugby field by ending the dominance of the Colombo based clubs. Even the schools were encouraged and raised their standards in Kandy. Malik is also a strict disciplinarian . When the history of rugby is recorded at Nittawela, the name of Malik Samarawickrama will stand out as the person, who gave of his best to this club to win matches and trophies.

This club was founded in 1874 as Kandy Athletic, Boating, Cricket,Football and Dancing Club and after 14 years the name was changed to Kandy SC,now the most successful rugby team, after playing the first league competition in 1950 it was in 1994 they won the first trophy. For the first time Kandy SportsClub entered the final in 1954 under the captaincy of S.B. Pilapitiya but lost o CR & FC in the final, and once again the following year 1955 under the captaincy of Jeff Macpherson, too they went down to CR & FC in the final.Then the next final was after 14 years in 1969 losing to CR and FC by 6-12

Rugby is the main sport in Kandy’s sports calendar and none can forget the services rendered to the sport by people like Stanley Martin, Colonel Stanley Ratwatte, Oswin Silva, Chandra Wijenayake, YC Chang, EW Balasuriya, Dr. C D L Fernando, Dr. S. Nadesen, Dr. John Karunaratne, Dr. Dago Gunawardene, Anuruudha Ratwatte, Dharmasiri Madugalle, Maurice Perera, Malik Samarawickrema, Kishin Butani, Dr Sarath Kapuwatte, Iswan Omar, H. Marikar, Siva Subramanium,Nimal Malagamuwa, Dr. S.Jayakuru, Col. Allen Nugawela, Nimal Lewke, Priyantha Ekanayake, William Gal Weerasinghe, Meryl “Ford” Gunatlake, Sarath Perera, C.H. Seneviratne, Sarath Zoysa, Hassan Sinhawansa, Malath Fernando, Hemaka Amarasuriya, Hemantha Yatawara, Maurice Joachim, Milroy Mendis, Leslie Soysa, Dudley Gunatilake, Ananda Kasthuriachchi and Lasantha Wijesuriya, to name a few.

This year the players gave an impressive performance ending as the only undefeated side in the inter club league rugby competition. a big hand should go to their rugby committee chairman Lasantha Wijesuriya, and the coaching team headed by Fazil Marija Assistant coach Buddhika Thalagampola,Trainer - Tharaka Algama, Physio Charith Vithanage and Lakshitha Seneviratne and team manager Kapila Silva.

This year’s squad had players like Nigel Ratwatte who led the side from the front, Roshan Weeraratne,Gayan Jayawardena, Damith Dissanayake, Danushka Ranjan, Heshan Silva,Yakoob Ali, Buwanaka Udangamuwa, Kavindu Perera, Jason Dissanayake, Shehan Pathirana, Srinath Sooriyabandara, Soyuru Anthony, Anuruddha Wilwara, Ganuka Dissanayake, Ashan Darling, Lavanga Perera, Oshan Perera, Tharinda Ratwatte, Dansha Dayan, Kasun Jayasuriya,Lasitha Attanagoda, Tharindu Chathuranga, Vishwamithra Jayasinghe, T.P.L Ranaweera, Heshan Jansen, Malitha Rashmika, Lahiru Daulagala, W.S.K Madushanka, R.L Chandraratne, Mohamed Shabeer, Tharaka de Silva,Diluksha Dange, Charles Praveen, H.C.S Perera, N.K.B Priyaratne, Kavishka Lakshan, M Hilmy.

Add new comment