Defending champs Kandy SC declared League Rugby Champions 2021/22 | Daily News
Sri Lanka Rugby AGM on August 27 :

Defending champs Kandy SC declared League Rugby Champions 2021/22

Defending champions Kandy Sports Club were declared the Nippon Paint Inter Club League Rugby champions for the year 2021/22 by Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR).

Due to the current crisis in the country, the league was halted with two matches remaining to complete the tournament. The vital game between unbeaten Kandy and second placed Havelock’s was forced to be cancelled because of the crisis. The Sri Lanka Rugby and the council members made a decision to award Kandy Sports Club the League championship for the season 2021/22.”

Kandy won all their eight games and was leading the points table with a total of 45 points, while runners up Havelock Sports Club won seven games thus losing only to Kandy SC in the first-round to end with a total of 40 points.

In an emergency Council meeting of Sri Lanka rugby (SLR) held on 22 May 2022, they decided to declare Kandy Sports Club as the champions and in the Plate segment Navy Sports Club was declared champions after a closely fought out battle with Air Force Sports club. Navy SC played eight games, won three matches and collected a total of 19 points, while Air Force SC played eight matches, won three and collected 18 total points.

Speaking exclusively to the Daily News, League champion winning Kandy Sports Club Head coach Fazil Marija said “ First of all the hard work put in by the coaching staff and the entire rugby squad has finally paid off. I’m really happy to win my second consecutive league championship under my head coaching and wanted to thank the captain Nigel Ratwatte and the whole squad, my assistant coach Buddika Thalagampola, trainer Tharaka and very specially Malik Samarawickrema, Kandy sports club president and the committee, also the Rugby committee and all the Kandy fans who have supported us to become champions for yet another year” concluded Marija.

Meanwhile, the Sri Lanka rugby (SLR) council has also decided to hold the AGM and on August 27, while council had approved independent body National Olympic Council (NOC) to conduct the AGM as per the SLR constitution, with observers from Sports Ministry, World Rugby, Asia Rugby and Asia Olympic Committee.

Add new comment