Sri Lanka ‘A’ to take on Australia ‘A’ in June | Daily News

Sri Lanka ‘A’ to take on Australia ‘A’ in June

Sri Lanka ‘A’ team will play against Australia ‘A’ concurrently during the Sri Lanka – Australia cricket match series which is scheduled to be worked off from June 7 to July 12. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) is going to organize Sri Lanka ‘A’ match series to give more exposure for the promising cricketers who are the replacement for the National team. The itinerary of the match series is not finalised yet.

According to reliable sources, already selection committee has picked a 24-member preliminary Sri Lanka ‘A’ squad to focus on the forthcoming Australia ‘A’ series at home. Their plan is to give more exposure for these players while the players like Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka who are on the injured list will be added to this squad after their full recovery period.

The players who performed well at the recently concluded National Super League (NSL) tournament, as well as Major Clubs Emerging three-day cricket tournament, will get a chance to be included in this tournament based on their performances.

Players like Kamil Mishara, Kamindu Mendis, Dilshan Madushanka who are with the National team for the Bangladesh Test series have been included in this 24 member squad while Pranath Jayasuriya, the most successful leg spinner at the recently concluded National Super League is also in this squad. Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ashen Bandara, Nuwanindu Fernando the three players already in England for the Emerging tour are also in the squad.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ team preliminary squad for the Australia ‘A’ series: Pabasara Waduge Kamil Mishara (wk), Sangeeth Cooray ,Minod Bhanuka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Nuwanindu Fernando, Hashan Dumindu, Saminda Fernando, Janith Liyanage, Lahiru Udara (wk), Ashen Bandara, Sahan Arachchige, Lahriu Samarakoon, Lahiru Madhshanka, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Paramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Shiran Fernando, Mohammad Shiraz, Kavindu Pathiratne, Prabath Jayasuriya, Pulina Tharanga, Lakshitha Rasanjana.

Add new comment