HFC, Joes emerge ‘A’ division basketball champs | Daily News

HFC, Joes emerge ‘A’ division basketball champs

The Holy Family Convent, Bambalapitiya, and St. Joseph’s College, Colombo, emerged champions in the girls’ and boys’ categories respectively, at the Under 20 Schools Division ‘A’ Basketball Tournament 2022 which worked off at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium yesterday (19).

The Familians comfortably beat Mahamaya College, Kandy, in the final match by 70-39 while earlier, the halftime score was 38-22. Josephians took the lead in the final match against Royal College Colombo, cruising to a 68-52 road win.

In the Division B girl’s category, Ladies College, Colombo, clinched the title when they beat Hillwood College, Kandy by 49-30 while OKI International School beat Isipathana College, Colombo in the boys’ category 55-44.

Holy Family Balika Maha Vidyalaya, Kurunegala secured the title in the Division ‘C’ girls’ category while they defeated Yasodaradevi Balika Maha Vidyalaya, Gampaha in the final encounter by 55-50. St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa recorded a thrilling victory by three points over Darmashoka Vidyalaya, Ambalangoda (57-54).



Division A – Girls: Champions: Holy Family Convent - Bambalapitiya, Runner-up: Mahamaya College - Kandy, 2nd Runner-up: St. Joseph’s Girls College, Nugegoda.

Best Offensive Player: Chithera Samarakoon, Mahamaya College, Kandy
Best Defensive Player: Minoli Direkze, Holy Family Convent, Bambalapitiya
Most Valuable Player: Onela Dunuwille, Holy Family Convent, Bambalapitiya

Division A – Boys: Champions: St. Joseph’s College- Colombo, Runner-up: Royal College- Colombo, 2nd Runner-up: St. Peter’s College, Colombo.

Best Offensive Player: Yuganan Baskaran, Royal College, Colombo
Best Defensive Player: Keith Costa, St. Joseph’s College, Colombo

Most Valuable Player: Shehan Fernando, St. Joseph’s College, Colombo
Division B – Girls: Ladies College – Colombo, Runner-up: Hillwood College – Kandy, 2nd Runner-up: Visakha Vidyalaya – Colombo.

Best Offensive Player: Sareesha Mapa Gunaratna, Ladies College, Colombo
Best Defensive Player: Supuni Rathnayake, Hillwood College, Kandy

Most Valuable Player: Kindra Benjamin, Ladies College, Colombo
Division B – Boys: OKI International School, Runner-up: Isipathana Vidyalaya – Colombo, 2nd Runner-up: CIS International School.

Best Offensive Player: Nilbert Britto – OKI International School
Best Defensive Player: Senuda Yuthmin Jayarathna, Isipathana Vidyalaya

Most Valuable Player: Yaeesh Amith, OKI International School
Division C – Girls: Holy Family Balika Maha Vidyalaya – Kurunegala, Runner-up: Yasodaradevi Balika Maha Vidyalaya – Gampaha, 2nd Runner-up: Maliyadeva Girls College – Kurunegala.

Best Offensive Player: M.D.T. Perera – Holy Family BMV, Kurunegala
Best Defensive Player: H. Keshani Bandara – Yasodaradevi BMV, Gampaha

Most Valuable Player: J.M.M.P. Jayawardana – Holy Family BMV, Kurunegala
Division C – Boys: St. Joseph Vaz College – Wennappuwa, Runner-up: Darmashoka Vidyalaya – Ambalangoda, 2nd Runner-up: Prince of Wales – Moratuwa.

Best Offensive Player: L.K. Lakshan – St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa
Best Defensive Player: Naveen Udayanga – Darmashoka Vidyalaya – Ambalangoda

Most Valuable Player: Nirmal Appuhamy – St. Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa

Add new comment