Several schools in Colombo can reopen on 15 | Daily News

Several schools in Colombo can reopen on 15

Minister of Education Prof. G.L Peiris says schools in seven of the 13 Divisional secretariats in Colombo District can reopen on the 15th February subject to the approval of the Director General of Health Services.

The Divisional Coordinating Committee has recommended that 412 out of 492 schools in Colombo be reopened on February 15.

The Minister speaking at a media briefing said that consent has been sought to open schools in Thimbirigasyaya, Homagama, Kesbewa, Dehiwala, Moratuwa, Kolonnawa, and Seethawaka.

The Minister said that over the past five days the Regional Coordinating Committees in the Colombo district have tabled their recommendations to the Education Ministry over the possibilities of re-opening schools.

The Minister said that based on their recommendations, approval and advice has been sought from the Director General of Health services.

He added that once approved nearly 76 schools can re-open the academic year starting from February 15th.

These schools he said were located in Thimbirigasyaya, Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte, Kolonnawa, Homagama, Kaduwela, Padukka, Maharagama, Ratmalana, Dehiwala, Seethawaka, Moratuwa. Among the 76 are also a few international and privenas.