New look Sri Lanka in tough group | Daily News
Asian Rugby Sevens in Hong Kong

New look Sri Lanka in tough group

Sri Lankan rugby sevens team members at a practice session.
Sri Lankan rugby sevens team members at a practice session.

The Sri Lankan rugby sevens team which takes part in the first round of the Asian Rugby Sevens in Hong Kong will enter the competition with a new approach.

Sri Lanka’s regular sevens captain Sudharshana Muthuthanthri was not included in the team due to an injury sustained at the recent Asian Games in Jakarta and Kandy SC’s experienced scrum half Srinath Sooriyabandara will lead the Lankan team in Hong Kong in his absence.

There are few more experienced players who will not participate in the Hong Kong event. Kandy SC’s energetic centre Dhanushka Ranjan will also miss the tournament due to an injury. Another Kandy SC ace Jason Dissanayaka too will not play as he has commitments to play in the Western Asia Rugby Championship. CR player Tharinda Ratwatte will not participate due to educational commitments.

The Lankan squad to Hong Kong is full of young blood. Kevin Dixon, Adeesha Weeratunge and Naveen Henakankanamge have been recalled to the national sevens side while former St. Anthony’s skipper Dinuk Amarasinghe has been included for the first time.

Sri Lanka playing in Group ‘A’ will meet China in tomorrow’s first match before they battle with Asian Cup gold medalist Japan on the same day in their second match. Lankans will take on the remaining Group ‘A’ nation, Chinese Taipei on the second day of the tournament. Sri Lanka was placed fifth in last year’s Asian Rugby Sevens tournament.

LANKAN SEVENS SQUAD: Srinath Sooriyabandara (Captain), Gayan Weeraratne, Danusha Dayan (Kandy SC), Kavindu Perera, Riza Rafaideen, Kevin Dixon, Rehan Silva (CR), Naveen Henakankanamge, Sudam Sooriarachchi (CH), Buddhima Piyaratne, Adeesha Weeratunge (Navy SC), Dinuk Amarasinghe (Havelock SC).

Add new comment