Asian Cup women’s T20 cricket in Thailand Hasini Perera to captain Sri Lanka | Daily News

Asian Cup women’s T20 cricket in Thailand Hasini Perera to captain Sri Lanka

Twenty-one-year-old all-rounder Hasini Perera has been selected the new captain of the Sri Lanka Women’s national squad which will be participating at the Asian Cup Women’s T20 Championship from November 26 at the Terdthai Cricket Stadium in Bangkok, Thailand.

A left-handed opener Hasini is currently participating in the ongoing ODI series against visiting England Women cricketers and will lead the team for the first time at the six-nation Asia Cup T20 Championship. She is a product of Anula Vidyalaya, Nugegoda and captained the Western Province team to clinch the Inter-Provincial Women’s cricket crown.

Pace star Udeshika Prabodhini, opener Yasodha Mendis and all-rounder Ishani Lokusuriya who missed the ODI series against English women due to injuries have been recalled to the 15-member Asian Cup T20 squad.

This is the second occasion, a women’s Asia Cup tourney will be conducted in a T20 format. India emerged victorious at the previous 2012 championship in China.

The team will battle under the guidance of new national women’s coach Hemantha Devapriya. The National selectors have decided to introduce new women captain’s for both ODI and T20 formats making revolutionary amendments to Sri Lankan women’s cricket. Many all-rounders have been included in the Sri Lanka team to Bangkok.

Sri Lanka women’s squad to Thailand: Hasini Perera (captain), Prasadini Weerakkody (vice captain), Chamari Atapattu, Sripali Weerakkody, Sugandhika Kumari, Dilani Manodara, Nilakshi Silva, Nipuni Hansikaa, Inoka Ranaweera, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Ishani Lukusuriya, Yasodha Mendis, Hansima Karunartne, Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhini.

Add new comment