SCHOOLS UNDER 15 NEWS: Singer Cup Under 15 Division Two Inter Schools Cricket Tournament begins | Daily News

SCHOOLS UNDER 15 NEWS: Singer Cup Under 15 Division Two Inter Schools Cricket Tournament begins


Schools U15 D11 tournament, which was conducted last year as a limited-over tournament will be played on a new format this year according to SLSCA who conduct this tournament in association with Singer Sri Lanka PLC. All matches will be confined to one-day duration with a playing time of six hours and 20 minutes, but four innings could be played with time permitting for which both teams have a minimum of 95 overs.

However, neither team can bat more than 65 overs even if they are not bowled out in 65 overs. An outright win will be on offer for the winners of matches in which all four innings are completed and otherwise, in matches only first innings are completed, the winners will be decided on the first-innings scores whilst all matches that do not produce at least first innings results will be treated as matches with no decisions. This new format applies to this year’s U15 division 1 tournament as well.

First two rounds of this tournament will be conducted on league basis whilst the final round that starts from pre-quarter final stage will be held on knock-out basis.

Initially, the 77 schools compete in this tournament will play a league round in 13 groups before 40 of them who will be qualified to go through will play another league round with 5 teams each being pooled into 8 groups. The top two teams of each group will then form the pre-quarter final lineup in the final knock-out round, the matches of which from quarter final stage, will be played as two-day fixtures till the final.

De La Salle College Colombo and St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa (B) were the Joint-Champions of this tournament last year whilst the two teams promoted to D11 from D111 being Champions and runners-up of U15 D111 tournament last year, Mahinda Rajapaksha MV Homagama and Sri Siddhartha MV Sedawatte respectively will be the new comers to division 11 category this year.

Group-wise draw in the first round

Group ‘A’ - Rajasinghe Central College Hanwella, St. Sebastian's College (B) Moratuwa, S. Thomas’ Prep School Colombo 03, Dharmapala College (B) Pannipitiya, Taxila MMV Horana, D.S. Senanayake College (B) Colombo, Mahanama College (B) Colombo

Group ‘B’ – Homagama Central College, Royal College (B) Colombo, Thurstan College (B) Colombo, Nalanda College (B) Colombo, Ananda MV Kottawa, Mahinda Rajapaksha MV Homagama, Ananda College (B) Colombo

Group ‘C’ – President's College (B) Kotte, Sri Siddhartha MV Sedawatte, S. Thomas’ College (B) Mt. Lavinia, Prince of Wales College (B) Moratuwa, St. Benedict's College (B) Kotahena, St. Peter's College (B) Bambalapitiya

Group ‘D’ – Kelani Vidyalaya, Henry Olcott MV Kolonnawa, St. Joseph's College (B) Colombo, Sri Dharmaloka MV Kelaniya, Isipathana College (B) Colombo, Wesley College (B) Colombo

Group ‘E’ - Galahitiyawa MMV Ganemulla, Parakrama MV Bandarawatte Gampaha, De Mazenod College (B) Kandana, Ranpokunugama MV Nittambuwa, St. Joseph’s College Enderamulla, St. Peter's College Negombo

Group ‘F’ – Harischandra College Negombo, Loyola College Kochchikade, Dudley Senanayake Central College Tholangamuwa, Kirindiwela MMV Kirindiwela, Bandaranayake MMV Veyangoda, Christ King College Ja-Ela

Group ‘G’ – Ananda Shasthralaya Matugama, Mahanama College Panadura, St. Anthony's College Panadura, C.W.W. Kannangara MMV Matugama, Sripalee MV Horana

Group ‘H’ - Sri Sumangala MMV Wariyapola, St. Sebastian's College Katuneriya, Ananda National School Chilaw, Pannala NS Pannala, Wayamba Royal College Kurunegala

Group ‘J’ – Sri Rahula College Katugastota, Anuradhapura Central College, Vijaya College Matale, Dharmaraja College (B) Kandy, Kekirawa Central College, St. Anthony's College (B) Katugastota

Group ‘K’ – Nugawela Central College, Wickramabahu NS Gampola, Azhar College Akurana, Galagedara Central College, Trinity College (B) Kandy, Christchurch College Matale, Sri Sumangala College Kandy

Group ‘L’ – Bandarawela MMV Bandarawela, St. Aloysius College Ratnapura, S. Thomas’ College Guruthalawa, Seevali MMV Ratnapura, Sri Buddha Jayanthi MMV Balangoda, Royal College Monaragala

Group ‘M’ – S. Thomas’ College Bandarawela, Prince College Ratnapura, Badulla Central College, Ananda Maithreeya MMV Balangoda, Nissanka National School Badalkumbura

Group ‘N’ – Gamini MMV Bentota, Vijayaba NS Hungama, Sri Sumangala MMV Hikkaduwa, Wadduwa MMV, Madampa MMV Kuleegoda


There are 10 Comments

Add new comment