Six Pohottuwa petitions withdrawn | Daily News

Six Pohottuwa petitions withdrawn

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) or the Pohottuwa party yesterday decided to withdraw six writ petitions filed in the Court of Appeal.

The petitions challenged the Election Commission’s decision to reject nomination papers for the Maharagama, Panadura and Weligama Urban Councils, Agalawatta, Mahiyangana and Thirappane Pradeshiya Sabhas.

The Court of Appeal two-judge-Bench comprising Justice Preethi Padman Surasena (President) and Justice Shiran Gunaratne decided to dismiss the petitions without a hearing.

The Court was informed that the Supreme Court has already dismissed six petitions filed by SLPP in respect of these local authorities on the ground that there is no reason to grant relief on merit.

The petitioners including SLPP Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam had cited District Returning Officers, Election Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya and two other members of Election Commission, SLFP General Secretary Duminda Dissanayake, UNP General Secretary Kabir Hasheem, JVP General Secretary Tilvin Silva and several others as respondents.

The SLPP had filed writ petitions in Court of Appeal seeking an Interim Order restraining the Election Commission from taking further steps under the provisions of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance to proceed with holding the election to the relevant local authorities.

President’s Counsel Manohara de Silva, Ali Sabry PC with Senior Counsel Kanishka Vitharana appeared for the petitioners. Senior Deputy Solicitor General Arjuna Obeysekara with DSG Anusha Samaranayake, SSC Zurizain, SSC Ganga Wakistaarachchi, SC Nayomi Kahawita and SC Maithri Amarasinghe appeared for the District returning officers and the Election Commission. President’s Counsel Chandaka Jayasundara with counsel Pulasthi Rupasinghe and Meheran Careem appeared for the UPFA General Secretary. 



Add new comment