45th LV Jayaweera Memorial Boxing: Weerasinghe Best Boxer | Daily News

45th LV Jayaweera Memorial Boxing: Weerasinghe Best Boxer

The 45th LV Jayaweera Memorial Boxing Meet was concluded on Tuesday at the Dheerananda MMV, Pilimatalawa boxing ring under the patronage of Minister of Sports, Central Province, Thilina Tennakoon.

Several interesting bouts were featured on the final day. One of the best fights of the day was between Abhishek Bandara Meegalle of Royal College, Colombo who out boxed his heavy opponent W.K.O. Mendis of Mahanama College, Colombo. Meegalle went from the word ‘go’ to register a narrow win in a close bout. The Best Boxer’s award was won by S.D. Weerasinghe of Mahanama College, Colombo and the Best Loser’s trophy went to M.N.M.Ali of Sri Sumangala, Kandy.

Results (finals):

Light Fly Weight (33kg-35kg):

Champ: S.D. Weerasinghe of Mahanama, Col., Runner-up: T.Sanjana of Narandeniya MV.

Fly weight: (35kg-37kg):

Champ: W.Dananjaya of Narandeniya MV, Runner-up: S.M. Dulaksha of Don Pediris, Horana

Bantam weight (37kg.-39kg):

Champ: K.Karunasinghe of Dheerananda MV, Pilimatalawa, Runner-up: M.N.M.Ali of Sri Sumangala, Kandy

Feather weight (39kg-41kg):

Champ: H. Herath of Trinity College, Kandy, Runner-up: S. Bandara of Vidyartha College, Kandy

Light Weight (41kg-43kg):

Champ: T.Bandara of Trinity, Kandy, Runner-up: D.Vithana of Don Pediris, Horana

Light welter weight (43kg-45kg):

Champ: R.Dilshan of Narandeniya MV, Runner-up: M.Faisal of Trinity, Kandy

Light Fly weight (44kg-46kg):

Champ: E.Saram of Mahanama, Col., Runner-up: S. Silva of Vidyartha,Kandy

Fly weight (46kg-48kg):

Champ: D.Dissanayake of Dharmaraja, Kandy, Runner-up: H.Shanuka of Galwetiyawa MV,Kantale

Bantam weight (48kg-50kg):

Champ: W. Thilakshana of Mahanama, Col., Runner-up: H.Wickremasinghe of Vidyartha, Kandy

Feather weight (50kg-52kg):

Champ: Abhisheka Meegalle of Royal College, Col., Runner-up: W.Mendis of Mahanama, Col.

Light weight (52kg-54kg):

Champ: S. Perera of Royal College, Col., Runner-up: R. Senaratne of Seevalie Vidyalaya.

Light Fly weight (46kg-49kg):

Champ: G. Dissanayake of St.Aloysius, Runner-up: R.Napil of Vidyaloka MV

Fly weight (49kg-52kg):

Champ: H Kularatne of Vidyartha,Kandy, Runner-up A.Rashid of Zahira, Colombo

Bantam weight (52kg-56kg):

Champ: I. Sinhapura of St.Sylvester’s, Kandy, Runner-up: N.Bamunuarachchi of Ananda,Col.

Feather weight (56kg-60kg):

Champ: R.Somasiri of Vidyartha, Kandy, Runner-up: N.Lojan of Nelliyadi,Vavuniya

Light weight (60kg-64kg);

Champ: M.Tharshan of Roman Catholic Tamil Sc.Mannar, Runner-up: A.Nishad of S.Thomas’ Mt.Lavinia.


There is 1 Comment

The Champion of the light weight 60-64kg category was my friend A.F.A Nishad of STC and runner up of this was M.Tharshan of Roman Catholic Tamil. Please recheck your information


Add new comment