Thai golfers dominate Lanka Amateur C'ships | Daily News

Thai golfers dominate Lanka Amateur C'ships

Thailand golfers stole the limelight as they won both the men's and women's championship titles at the 128th Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championship concluded at the Royal Colombo Golf Club on Saturday.

Witchayanon Chothirungren won the men's crown while A. Yubol bagged the women's crown.

Witchayanon defeated Indian golfer Samarth Dwivedi in a closely contested 36-hole final to win two up while Yubol overcame her Indian opponent R. Dwivedi 7/6 in the women's final.

The only Sri Lankan to impress was Sisira Kumara when he won the Timothy de Silva Trophy for the best two days aggregate score. The Timothy de Silva trophy is given in memory of the first Ceylonese winner of the Sri Lanka Amateur Championship in 1927.

The International Team event for the Palakamedi Trophy was also won by Thailand teams in both men's and women's categories. In the men's event Thailand beat Pakistan while in the ladies they defeated India. Kayla Perera won the women's handicap event played for the F.B. De Mel Trophy as she beat Louise Parsons two up. AA



Add new comment