Royal thrash Thomians to retain Mustangs Trophy | Daily News

Royal thrash Thomians to retain Mustangs Trophy

Royal College winners of 46th Mustangs Trophy 2023. (Picture by Herbert Perera)
Royal College winners of 46th Mustangs Trophy 2023. (Picture by Herbert Perera)

Royal College completed a grand double when they defeated the traditional rivals S. Thomas’ College by seven wickets in the 46th Mustangs Trophy limited overs cricket encounter played at the SSC Grounds in Maitland Place yesterday.

Royal, who had outplayed their opponents by 180 runs to win the D. S. Senanayake Memorial Shield in the Battle of the Blues three-day Big Match last week at the same venue, continued their impressive form and completely dominated the game with another superb all-round performance.

Royal’s success had a great amount of significance because the last time they won the Big Match, and the Mustangs Trophy was back in 2013 where they completed the double under the captaincy of Devind Pathmanathan.

The lads from Reid Avenue also made it three wins-in-a-row having won the Trophy in 2019 and 2022 while the match was not played in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Royalist Rehan Peiris who top-scored with 69 not out and was adjudged Man of the Match, plays a shot in the 46th Mustangs Trophy match against S. Thomas’ played at SSC grounds.
Pic by Nissanka Wijerathne.

Royal’s success was always there from the moment they bowled out their opponents for 165 and they chased down that target in style with opener Rehan Peiris and Uvindu Weerasekera stroking splendid half-centuries.

In fact, it was a memorable game for the promising Peiris, who was selected as the Best Fresher and the Player of the Match for his unbeaten 69, which included one six and seven boundaries.

The elegant right-hander anchored the innings beautifully and added 107 for the second wicket with Uvindu Weerasekera before Skipper Dasis Manchanayake, quite fittingly, struck the winning runs in the 37th over.

Earlier, opener Senadhi Bulankulama played a lone hand for the Thomians with a fighting 66 with the help of six boundaries after they had elected to bat first. Bulan Weerathunga, Sandesh Ramanayake and Dasis Manchanayake had two wickets each while Anush Polonowita, Ranuka Malaviarachchi and Ramiru Perera captured a wicket each.


Chief scores


S. Thomas’: 165 in 48.2 overs (Senadhi Bulankulama 66, Mahith Perera 28, Bulan Weeratunga 2/24, Sandesh Ramanayake 2/34, Dasis Manchanayake 2/25)

Royal: 166/3 in 37 overs (Rehan Peiris 69 n.o, Uvindu Weerasekera 50, Dasis Manchanayake 26 n.o).

(Special Awards): Best Bowler (Royal): Bulan Weeratunga. Best Bowler (S. Thomas): Ashen Perera. Best Batsman (Royal): Uvindu Weerasekera. Best Batsman (S. Thomas’): Senadhi Bulankulama. Best Fresher: Rehan Peiris (Royal). Player of the Match: Rehan Peiris (Royal).


Add new comment