Two FR petitions fixed for July 6 | Daily News
Inquiry into parties responsible for economic crisis:

Two FR petitions fixed for July 6

Two Fundamental Rights petitions which were filed seeking an immediate inquiry into those responsible for the economic crisis in the country was yesterday fixed for July 6 by the Supreme Court.

The petition seeks an order restraining Former Finance Ministers Mahinda Rajapaksa and Basil Rajapaksa, former Central Bank Governors Ajith Nivard Cabraal, Dr. W.D.Lakshman and former Finance  Ministry Secretary S.R Attygalle from traveling abroad without the approval of the Supreme Court.

The petition was taken up before the Supreme Court Three-Judge-Bench comprising Justices Vijith Malalgoda, Mahinda Samayawardena and Arjuna Obeysekara.

President’s Counsel Savindra Fernando appearing for former Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivard Cabral, who is a respondent in both the petitions, sought from the court that time be given as he intended to file limited objections against these petitions.

President’s Counsel Upul Jayasuriya, who appeared on behalf of Dr. Maheem Mendis and the three others said that he would object to any further extension of time as he had previously been given time to file the objections.

President’s Counsel Chandaka Jayasundara, who represented the petitioners former president of the Chamber of Commerce Chandra Jayaratne, swimming champion Julian Bowling, Jehan Kanegaratne and Transparency International Sri Lanka, said that he would not object if the objections were filed before July 06.

After considering the facts, the court fixed the petitions to be taken up before a Bench led by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya on July 6 to decide on it.The petition was filed by former Chamber of Commerce Chairman Chandra Jayaratne, swimming champion Julian Bowling, Jehan Kanegaratne and Transparency International Sri Lanka. The Petition has cited the Attorney General on behalf of the President, former Minister of Finance and former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, current Minister of Finance and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, former Governors of the Central Bank Ajith Nivard Cabraal, Dr.W.D.Lakshman, former Ministers of Finance Basil Rajapaksa, Ali Sabry, Former Secretary to the Ministry of Finance S.R. Attygalle, President of the Bar Association of Ceylon Saliya Peiris PC and 13 others as the respondents. The petitioners allege that the country is currently in a state of bankruptcy and the people are in dire straits due to the unwise economic policies and inefficient administration pursued by the respondents.

Add new comment