Kandy-Jaffna key game today | Daily News
National Super League 4-day Tournament:

Kandy-Jaffna key game today

Two National Super League Four-day tournament fixtures will commence today as Colombo will meet Dambulla at R.Premadasa Stadium and the key game Kandy will battle with Jaffna at Pallekele Stadium at Kandy.

The tournament commenced last week with two high-scoring games that ended in no decisions. Kandy led by Kamindu Mendis recorded a first innings win over Galle at Galle Stadium while Jaffna who made a massive 555 all out in their first innings had to be satisfied with a first innings win over Colombo at Hambantota. However, the Kandy team already having 12.265 points top of the points table while Jaffna is in second place with 12.085 points.

The batsmen dominated in the first week while six batsmen recorded centuries in these two matches. Roshen Silva of Colombo scored the highest individual total of 171 not out for Colombo side against Jaffna while Jaffna's Saminda Fernando hit 141 in this game.

Meanwhile, the Kandy-Galle match played at Galle finished with Kandy earning first innings points. The Galle opener Pabasara Waduge (128) and number nine batter Suminda Lakshan scored 106 but that was not enough. Finally, Kandy were ahead of 18 runs to take the first innings points. Kandy scored 482 with Skipper Kamindu Mendis scoring 111 while their openers Lahiru Udara (92) and Lasith Croospulle (93) were unable to reach the three-figure mark.

Galle scored 465 in the first innings while Kandy in their second innings once again 253 for 5 wickets with Oshada Fernando hit an unbeaten 122.

Dambulla led by Minod Bhanuka will play their first game at this four-day tournament while they will meet Colombo led by Sammu Ashan at R.Premadasa Stadium. After the reconstruction work of Premadasa Stadium, this will be the first match in five months. The last game between Sri Lanka- South Africa was held last September at this venue.

Jaffna led by Sadeera Samarawickrama will meet Kandy today and the same two teams earlier met at the National Super League limited over tournament two weeks before at this same venue, Pallekele which won by Jaffna to take the title.

Add new comment