Five new members for Zimbabwe series | Daily News

Five new members for Zimbabwe series

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) selection committee has decided to include five new members to the national squad for the ODI series against Zimbabwe, which will commence from January 16th at Pallekele.

Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Kamidu Mendis, Shiran Fernando, and Nuwan Pradeep have been added to the squad.

From the Sri Lankan team, cricketers Avishka Fernando and Janith Liyanage had contracted COVID-19. Two pacemen Kalana Perera and Lahiru Kumara are unavailable for the series after failing the skinfold test.

Kusal Mendis has been included after the SLC recently decided to lift the one-year ban that was imposed on him. Kamindu Mendis has been appointed to replace Dhananjay de Silva who has stepped down from the team due to personal reasons.

Newcomers Kamil Mishara, Nuwan Thushara, and Chamika Gunasekara have also been included in the squad while leg spinner Jeffrey Vandersay has been recalled for the squad, as the key spinner Waninidu Hasaranga is still not recovered from the injury.

Meanwhile Ranjan Madugalle the ICC Chief match referee has been appointed match referee for the Zimbabwe ODI series while the five-member umpires panel also has been named for this series. The ICC Elite panel umpire Kumar Dharmasena and ICC umpires Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal, and Prageeth Rambukwella are also included in this umpires panel.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad: (subjected to approval)

Dasun Shanaka (captain), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Minod Bhanuka, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Thushara, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Gunasekara, Kamil Mishara

Standby: Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Ashen Daniel, Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi.

Add new comment