Selectors name 25-member squad for India series | Daily News

Selectors name 25-member squad for India series

Dasun Shanaka will lead Sri Lanka’s 25-man squad for series with India.
Dasun Shanaka will lead Sri Lanka’s 25-man squad for series with India.

The National Cricket Selectors yesterday named a 25-member squad in preparation for the limited overs series against India, which begins on July 13.

According to reliable sources, the National Selectors have also all-rounder Dasun Shanaka as the new captain for the series with Dhananajaya de Silva as the Vice-Captain. The squad has to be approved by the Sports Minister.

Shanaka has performed well in the recent past and was one of the few outstanding players during Sri Lanka’s tour of England. He also had some experience in leading the national side to victory over Pakistan in 2019.

Earlier, Shanaka was selected for the tour of the West Indies but could not make the tour due to a Visa delay.

Meanwhile, De Silva has been named Vice-Captain of the Sri Lanka Team for the first time.

He is a useful middle-order batsman and played a fighting knock of 91 in the second One Day International against England at The Oval.

Oshada Fernando and Nuwan Pradeep have been left out of the squad while uncapped players Lahiru Udara, Lahiru Kumara, Ashen Bandara, Kasun Rajitha, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa were added to the squad.

Sri Lanka Squad (subjected to approval): Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Udara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.


Add new comment