Twelve schools in Kandy upgraded to National Level | Daily News

Twelve schools in Kandy upgraded to National Level

The Education Ministry has approved to upgrade 12 schools in the Gangawata Korale Electorate in Kandy to National Schools under a programme to establish 1,000 new National Schools, State Minister Dilum Amunugama said.

Katugastota St. Anthony's College, Viharamaha Devi Girls’ College, Hemamali Girls’ College, Seethadevi Girls College, Swarnamali Balika Vidyalaya and Wariyapola Sri Sumangala College, St. Sylvester's College, Vidyartha College, Peradeniya Central College, Lumbini Royal College, Berrewaerts College and Sarasavi Uyana College will be upgraded to National Schools.

He was speaking to the media after a discussion at the Kandy District Secretariat Auditorium recently to discuss the conversion of schools into national schools in the Central Province.

State Minister Amunugama said that the Ministry had taken steps to establish 1,000 National Schools on the instructions of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa to address the high level of competition for popular schools.

He said that although the previous government had implemented a 'Nearest School is the Best School' programme, it was not properly implemented. “The Government will not launch projects to deceive parents and children,” he said.

The Government would provide facilities to schools that would be converted into National Schools, he said. He said that the principals should prepare a project report on the needs of their school and submit it to the Ministry, including information about the need for teachers, buildings and other infrastructure.

The State Minister said that these new schools will be placed at the same standards as the National Schools and the number of students at them will be increased.

He said that Central Governor Lalith U. Gamage had given his full support in converting the schools under the Central Provincial Council into National Schools.