NCC, Ragama favourites to win SLC L/O semis | Daily News

NCC, Ragama favourites to win SLC L/O semis

Two unbeaten teams, NCC and Ragama CC are favourites to win their respective semi finals of the Major Club Limited Over Cricket Tournament, which will be worked off in Colombo today.

NCC will meet Badureliya CC at the CCC Grounds in Maitland Crescent while Ragama CC will battle it out against Army CC at the NCC Grounds in Maitland Place.

NCC, led by Angelo Perera has a strong batting line-up and they also have the credit of making the highest team total of 375 for five wickets against Nugegoda SC.

All-rounder Chaturanga de Silva is their most successful batsman with 324 runs with a century and two fifties while Skipper Angelo Perera has scored 305 runs including a century and a half-century.

The two pacemen Lahiru Kumara and Chamika Karunaratne are their key bowlers while leg-spinner Chaturanga de Silva will provide the back-up support.

Badureliya SC, led by Alankara Asanka Silva defeated Moors SC by seven wickets in the quarter-finals and are set to cause a major challenge to the NCC outfit.

Their opener Sandun Weerakkody has amassed 384 runs in this tournament and is the key batsman while all-rounders Milinda Siriwardana and Thillekarartne Sampath are capable of making useful runs.

Meanwhile, Army CC who beat the more fancied SSC in the quarter-finals are expected to provide a tough challenge to the unbeaten Ragama CC Team.

Ragama CC, led by all-rounder Ishan Jayaratne have a well balanced side while Janith Liyanage is the highest run-getter of the tournament having accumulated 414 runs with a century and three half-centuries. Udara Jayasundara and Skipper Jayaratne are also among the runs in this tournament while Binura Fernando, the highest wicket-taker of the tournament with 17 will spearhead the bowling department.

Army CC led by Thisara Perera will have the services of two experienced players Seekkuge Prasanna and Asela Gunaratne.

Off-spinner Dushan Vimukthi has 15 wickets while off-spinner Maheesh Theekshana and leg-spinner Lakshan Fernando are also among the wickets for Army CC.