Player withdrawals take centre stage ahead of Lanka Premier League | Daily News

Player withdrawals take centre stage ahead of Lanka Premier League

Lasith Malinga has pulled out from the LPL
Lasith Malinga has pulled out from the LPL

More top international players joined the list of withdrawals as the five franchises struggled to announce their final squad with less than one week ahead of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) T20 Cricket Tournament.

The 23-match inaugural LPL is set to commence on November 26 with all matches scheduled to be worked off at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota.

However, the player withdrawals have taken the centre stage more than the tournament with Sri Lanka T20I Skipper Lasith Malinga becoming the latest addition to join the list.

The 37-year-old ace fast bowler has decided to pull out due to lack of preparations having to miss out on the more lucrative Indian Premier League (IPL) earlier as well, owing to personal reasons.

Malinga, who was the local player, initially set to lead the Galle Gladiators team in the tournament, having last played his international game against the West Indies during March.

As the tournament took a heavy toll following the withdrawal of several top international players, the organisers have now decided to allow two additional players to join each franchise from the original restriction of 20 players.

The semi-finals of the tournament will be played on December 13 and 14 with the final schedule for December 16.

The players who have pulled out from LPL

Chris Gayle:

The ‘Universe Boss’ joined the Kandy Tuskers in the LPL 2020 Draft, but the franchise announced that Gayle would not appear in this year's edition.

Liam Plunkett:

Another overseas player who parted ways with the Kandy Tuskers was England fast bowler Liam Plunkett.

Lasith Malinga:

After missing the Indian Premier League (IPL), 2020 due to personal reasons, Malinga pulled out citing of lack of match practice and fitness.

Dawid Malan:

The World number one T20I batsman is skipping the LPL 2020, as he is set to participate in England's tour of South Africa.

Francois du Plessis:

The former South African Captain gave up his LPL 2020 contract because of National duty.

David Miller:

The South African player will miss the LPL 2020 because of the upcoming home series against England.

Manvinder Bisla:

The former Kolkata Knight Riders wicket-keeper batsman, a part of the Colombo Kings, cancelled his LPL 2020 appearance without providing an official reason.

Wahab Riaz:

The Pakistan fast bowler was set to be a part of the Kandy Tuskers team. However, no official response has been provided for his pull out.

Asif Ali:

The Jaffna Stallions announced that Kyle Abbott would replace Pakistan's top-order batsman.

Ravi Bopara:

The English all-rounder withdrew from the LPL after been listed as part of the Jaffna Stallions Squad.

Sarfaraz Ahmed:

The Galle Gladiators wicket-keeper batsman pulled out of the LPL, one day before the exit of Malinga and Gayle.