Kandy Municipal Council clinch soccer gold | Daily News

Kandy Municipal Council clinch soccer gold

Kandy Municipal Council soccer team
Kandy Municipal Council soccer team

Kandy Municipal Council Footballers claimed the gold medal of the 2020 State Services knock out football tournament after edging out Kotte Municipal Council on a penalty shootout in the final at the Beddegana grounds last Wednesday.

The team beat the opponents on a penalty shootout, after being one all at the final whistle. In the penalty shoot out, Kandy Municipal council scored 5 goals against 4.On the way to the finals they beat Kurunegala Municipal Council in a close game by one goal to nil and Kotte Municipal Council beat Prisons Department by one goal to nil in their semi final.

This win for Kandy Municipal Council came after 21 years,thanks to the Mayor Kesara Senanayake and Opposition leader Sena Dissanayake for giving all the support along with play grounds Chief G.G. Dharmartne who is the football president of the Municipal Council.and Secretary S. Mediwake. M.K.M. Asiq of the winning team was the best player, and most valuable player’s award was won by D.S.K. Fernando.

The champion team comprised of players like V.K. Ratnasekara, W.K. Abeyasinghe, K.K. Chandrasekara, D.J. Roshan, H.M.B.B. Nishantha, D.S.K. Fernando, M.K.M. Asiq,J.S. Jude Kulendran, M.R. Kobbawala, M.M.NM. Musthak, H.A.H.D. Chandrarthne, H.M.N.A.Hearth, M.A.M. Arafat, S.K.N. Kumara, S.Roshan, N.. Tyrone Jeyaraj, T.Gunnaruben, T.M. Asrafdeen, K.A.T. Lakmal, R.M.T.B. Ranasinghe, ManagerS.P.G. Vithanage and the side was coached by two experienced footballers W.A.Priyantha and R.G. Wijewardene.