Kandy Youth Cricket Club to get a new look | Daily News

Kandy Youth Cricket Club to get a new look

The Kandy Youth Cricket Club , is get a new look with authorities planning to bring back the game of cricket to its former position, and intent on playing in the up and coming Division III tournament in November. They also hope to introduce hockey and make a come back to rugby. This club at one time was one of the leading cricket playing clubs in Kandy District, if not Central Province, and are keen to bring back the game to where it was. This club was founded by Malcolm Perera with the objective of giving the cricketers in the Kandy area an opportunity of playing top grade cricket, the people who helped Malcolm Perera form the club were , the inaugural committee members like H.B. Uduwella the first president, and Vice Presidents were Mervyn Rodrigo, Hafiz Marikar and Dr. R. Mahendran, with Malcolm Perera taking the secretaries post, and his assistant was Ronald Perera , with Anura Ratanasinghe asTreasurer, Harold Ranasinge was the Ground Secretary. The committee had people like J.D. Shaw Wilson, Janaka Pathirana, Namal Heettiarchchi, Anura Keerthiratne and Michael Johnson.

Some of the players who played for the club were Tudor Gunaratne, Ajith Narmpanawa, Ajith Abeyakoon, Tuan Sawall, and Naushad Sampath. Ishak Shabdeen, Chamila Gamage, Namal Hettiarachchi, Aravinda Devapriya, Anura Sugathadasa, Dasrshana Wijesinghe, Mervyn Perera, Gayan Fernando, Chaminda Rajapakse, Cryshan Guanwardene, H.N.T.Gamage, Sachith Pathirana, Kumar Sangakkara and Kaushalya Weeraratne both last two named played in the under 23 tournament before they went over to Colombo to continue their cricket.

That time Senior Superintendent of Police late Bodhi Liyanage joined the club and became the president , and had a brief stint with rugby and played in the Inter-club ‘A’ division starting in the B” division and they stunned the local rugby world when they defeated the more fancied CR & FC at Longden Place. But after two seasons they had to give up club rugby due to financial constraints. Nalaka Weerakoddy s first rugby club was KandyYouth CC and Ananda Kasthuriarachchi was the first rugby coach.

In cricket , playing in the major tournament for the second year in 1987 became champions in the Division III CricketTournament and the following year they participated in the Division II Cricket Tournament and earned a promotion to Division I - the Sara Trophy Cricket Tournament. Kandy Youths Cricket Club at one time played at top level club cricket alongside the elite clubs SSC, NCC, Bloomfield, CCC, BRC, Moors SC. In 1995 they finished runners-up in the Sara Trophy limited over tournament.

At present this club is doing their best in the Kandy District Cricket Association limited overs tournament, and they have played three games and won all three.Two of their batsmen have done well in the three games, Chatura Kumarasiri has scored 234 runs in three games and Ganidu Kamburugamuwa 172. Coach Malcom Perera his giving his best and keen to bring the club back to the top