Eagle Logistics take on Allianz Insurance in the final | Daily News


MCA “E” division 25 Over League Tournament

Eagle Logistics take on Allianz Insurance in the final

Eagle Logistics will use “luck” as a winning charm on their opponents, Allianz Insurance when they confront them in the final of the 18th "DPGC" Challenge Trophy MCA “E” division 25 over League Tournament 2020 today, at the MCA Grounds commencing at 10 am.

Eagle Logistics lost their pre-quarter-final game against LOLC by 38 runs on August 23 at Mattegoda. As LOLC was disqualified from the tournament, for violating MCA rules on playing conditions, the Eagle got their nest back.

Eagles Logistics riding on their luck, went on to beat UB Finance by 75 runs in the quarter-finals and Commercial Leasing and Finance by 63 runs in the semi-finals.

Eagle Logistics played in Group “B” in the round-robin stage; They beat 3DH International Group by four wickets, beat AIA Insurance by 37 runs, beat Stafford Motors by 11 runs; surprisingly lost to Arpico by two wickets and beat Emerchemie NB by seven wickets, to top the group.

The top performers for Eagle Logistics are Dineth Thimodaya (five innings, 213 runs), Nimesh Praveen Bandara (eight innings, 191 runs), Dulaj Egodage eight innings, 187 runs), Asanka Priyamantha (eight matches, 152 runs, 17 wickets), and Mohamed Farri (eight matches, 187 runs, 15 wickets).

Allianz Insurance played in group “A” in the round–robin stage and topped the group with wins against, LOLC by 74 runs, Amana Bank by 60 runs, Std. Chartered Bank by 184 runs, but lost to Virtusa by 40 runs; Allianz Insurance in the knock-out stage, beat Emerchemie NB by 11 runs (PQF), beat Akbar Brothers by 50 runs (QF) & beat 3DH International Group on the bowl-outcontest (SF).

The top performers for Allianz Insurance are: Sameera Fernando (six innings, 01 not out, 228 runs), Ranga Dias (six innings, 01 not out, 224 runs including one century) Charinda Fernando (six innings, 206 runs & 137 runs, eight wickets), Sidath Vimukthi (six matches, 140 runs, 12 wickets) and Mayura Ranasinghe (five matches, 117 runs, 10 wickets)

Allianz Insurance finished runners-up to Fairfirst Insurance in the “F” division last year, thus they earned their due promotion to this division. The MCA appointed Match Referee cum Adjudicator at the Final is Sena Nandiweera.

The Teams:

Allianz Insurance: Sameera Fernando (captain), Charinda Fernando, M.S. Sampan, Demian Debyser, Ranga Dias, P. Brinthapan, Dhanushka Kumara, Dulaj Jayawardena, Mayura Ranasinghe, Malith Peiris, Sidath Mallawarachchi, Chathun Ranasinghe, Amila Liyanaarachchi.

Eagle Logistics: Prabuddha Ranaweera (captain), Isuru Mendis (v. captain) Asanka Perera, Mohamed Farri, Kalhara Senarathna, Dineth Thimodaya, Mark Abeyasundara, Pradeep Kumara, Nishan Fernando, Nimesh Bandara (wk), Dulaj Egodage, Dilanga Fernando, Chamalka Mahanama, Ujith Nishantha, Prageeth Fernando, Harsha Gunaratne. - (YK) 

Visit Kapruka.com Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.