Jagath de Soysa steers Cambrians to win big match in 1955 | Daily News

Jagath de Soysa steers Cambrians to win big match in 1955

Prince of Wales’ College first eleven cricket pool 1954/55: Seated from left: Condrad Rodrigo (Coach), Jagath de Soysa, Stanley de Alwis (Captain), J. B. C. Rodrigo (Principal), Lasantha Rodrigo, Herbert Fonseka, K. W. Darmapala (Prefect of Games). Back row standing from left: Even Fernando, Buddadasa Weerarathne, E.Nanayakkara, Tilak Wijedasa, Ranjan Rodrogo, Ashley Fonseka, Bandula Premachandra, Tissa Wijewickrama. Seated on the ground from left: Brindly Perera, Lakdasa Gunathilake. 

The Big Match series between Prince of Wales’ and St. Sebastian’s Colleges the two leading educational institutions of Moratuwa commenced in 1933 and there was a stoppage from 1938 to 1953 due to unforeseen reasons and it revived again in 1954. Once again there was another hold up in the years of 1969 and 1970. but since then it is functioning without a break. This year was the 70th Encounter and Sebs were the hosts and at the eleventh hour this encounter was postponed due to Corona. Any how both parties are eagerly looking forward to play this match before the end of the year. From 1933 to 1954 Cambrians have won three matches and Sebs could not register a victory.

In 1955 Cambrians beat their arch rivals by 9 wickets in their seventh encounter played at Cambrians grounds and the captains were Stanley de Alwis of Prince of Wales’ and Raymond de Silva of St. Sebastian’s. Alwis called the coin correctly and decided to bat initially and piled up 274 runs with a scintillating knock of 105 runs by Jagath de Soysa the first Cambrian to notched up a century for his school.

In this Big Match series and there were two healthy contributions came out from the bats of K. T. P. Wijedasa and Herbert Fonseka scoring 44 runs each. In reply Sebs were all out for 139 runs with Stanley de Alwis claiming 5 for 66 and following on visitors declared at 190 for 9 with Kingsley Fernando scoring 31 runs and Cambrians made the required score by loosing only the wicket of De Soysa who scored 30 runs.

Chief Scores

Prince of Wales’ – 274 – Jagath de Soysa 105, Herbert Fonseka 44, K. T. P. Wijedasa 44 and 50/1 – Jagath de Soysa 30

St. Sebastian’s – 139 – Carlyle de Silva 32, Stanley de Alwis 5/56 and 190/9 – Kingsley Fernando 31

Add new comment