GMOA elects new officers uncontested | Daily News


GMOA elects new officers uncontested

The Government Medical Officers’ Association (GMOA) unanimously elected the team of GMOA President Dr. Anuruddha Padeniya for the 10th consecutive year at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on June 27, newly appointed GMOA Secretary Dr. Senal Fernando said.

Dr. Fernando said Dr. Padeniya was re-elected as the President for the 10th consecutive year and all other officials were elected uncontested. The GMOA now has over 20,000 members.

Dr. Sanjeewa Tennakoon and Dr. Chandika Epitakaduwa have been elected as vice presidents, while Dr. Navin De Zoysa, Dr. Samantha Ananda, Dr. Chandana Dharmaratne and Dr. Sampath Athapatthu have been elected as Assistant Secretaries, he said.

Dr. Naath Wijesuriya was appointed the Treasurer, while former GMOA Secretary Dr. Haritha Aluthge was appointed the editor. Dr. Udaai Gunawardena was appointed Assistant Editor. Twenty five doctors have been appointed to the Central Committee uncontested, he said.

The GMOA was formed on October 16, 1926 in Kandy and 16 medical officers attended it.

The association was initially known as the Government Medical Officers’ Association (Central Province) and it confined its activities only to the province, although government medical officers from other provinces held its memberships.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment