AGM of CPRFU today | Daily News


AGM of CPRFU today

The annual general meeting of the Central Province Rugby Football Union will take place this morning at 10.00 a.m. at the Kandy Club hall. The Central Province Rugby Football Union (CPRFU) is the governing body for rugby union in Central Province. This Union was established in 1992 and is conducted in accordance with the SLRFU guidelines and constitution.

The founder clubs are Kandy SC, Dambulla A & CC, Dickoya Maskeliya CC, and Peradeniya University, later OTSC and Kandy Youth, all of whom have at one time or another competed in the Sri Lanka Rugby ‘A’ Division competition. The CPRFU also embarked in forming ‘B’ division clubs, which included Katugastota Rugby Football Club, Polgolla Rugby Football Club, Mawilmada Rugby Football Club, Matale Rugby Football Club, Nuwara Eliya Rugby Football Club and Pilimatalawa Rugby Football Club and by 2008 had 18 clubs playing in the up-country rugby league.

There are 52 schools in the Central Province engaged in rugby apart from the Schools Association schools teams, Trinity, Kingswood, St. Anthony’s, Dharmaraja, St. Sylvester’s, Sri Rahula, Sri Sumangala and Vidyartha. Rugby is a popular and growing team sport played in Kandy, one a division club and eight schools. The game enjoys widespread popularity.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment