Gnanasara Thera's petition challenging rejection of nominations withdrawn | Daily News


Gnanasara Thera's petition challenging rejection of nominations withdrawn

The writ petitions filed by Members of “Apè Janabala Pakshaya including Bodu Bala Sena (BBS) General  Secretary Ven. Galagodaatthe Gnanasara thera challenging the rejection of their nomination papers to contest the General  Election from Kurunegala district were today withdrawn by petitioners in the Supreme Court.

 When the petition came up before Supreme Court three-judge-bench comprising Justices Sisira de Abrew, Murdu Fernando and S. Thurairaja, counsel Thishya Weragoda appearing for the petitioners sought permission to withdraw the petitions since Court of Appeal has already made an order to dismiss four separate writ petitions filed over same issue.  

Taking into consideration the facts, the Court decided to dismiss all petitions accordingly.

The petitioners had sought an Interim Order preventing the Election Commission from taking further steps to proceed with holding the General Election in the Kurunegala District.   

The nomination papers submitted by Ven. Galagodaatthe Gnanasara thero under “Apè Janabala Pakshaya” to contest in the Kurunegala district was rejected on March 19.   

The petitioners stated that they were informed by the election officials that nomination papers were rejected due to the mistakes in the sworn statements of the candidates.   

The petitioners cited Election Commission's chairman Mahinda Deshapriya and several others as respondents. They sought an order in the nature of writ of Mandamus directing the Returning Officer appointed for the Kurunegala District to accept the nomination paper delivered to the Election Officer by the authorised agent of the Apè Janabala Pakshaya for the election of members to the Kurunegala District.  

 President's Counsel Romesh de Silva with counsel Thishya Weragoda, Pulasthi Rupasinghe, Iresh Seneviratne appeared for the petitioners. Deputy Solicitor General  Viveka Siriwardena appeared for the Attorney General. President’s Counsel Sanjeewa Jayawardena appeared for SLPP General Secretary. President’s Counsel Gamini Marapana with Navin Marapana PC appeared for UPFP General Secretary.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment