SLAITO Youth inaugurated | Daily News


SLAITO Youth inaugurated

The Inauguration of SLAITO Youth was held recently at the Ramada Hotel and Maxime Wickramasinghe was appointed President.

Former MP, Namal Rajapaksa was the Chief Guest while Dr. Palitha Kohana was the Guest Speaker.

“This is an opportunity and a fresh perspective on how youth are to take our industry forward,” said Wickramasinghe.

We are happy to inform that ASMET (Association For Small & Medium Enterprises In Tourism), TAASL (Travel Agents Association of Sri Lanka), SLAPCEO(Sri Lanka Association of Professional Conference, Exhibition and Event Organisers), BAR (Board of Airline Representatives), RACA (Rent A Car Association), SKAL (Sri Lanka Club of the International Association of Travel and Tourism Professionals) and PATA (Pacific Asia Travel Association) have joined hands with SLAITO in order to promote “one industry one voice” to take this initiative forward.”

“We have no doubt that through these industry wide partnerships we will be able to take Sri Lanka’s tourism industry to greater heights by addressing and lobbying our issues with the relevant authorities as a unified voice.”

“Whilst the overwhelming response from our membership has been a source of strength to us all, phase one of SLAITO Youth will be limited to 35 members with plans to expand into phase two in the near future.”

SLAITO Youth will endeavor to improve the sustainability of the tourism industry through industry wise initiatives to reduce the use of single use plastics as well as reducing the tourism’s impact on our wildlife, parks, coral reefs and our environment in general.

The importance of working with foreign tour operators will also be a topic of discussion during their outreach as studies have shown that 65% of tourists visiting the country are said to have booked their trip through a DMC in the recent past.

In addition, they also hope to increase the reach of our digital communication by using digital mediums such as Social Media, Webinars and blogs to educate and promote our country about all we have to offer to international and local stakeholders alike. The newly appointed committee headed by President SLAITO Youth Maxime Wickramasinghe, Mandrinee Nanayakkara, Thilochana Karandawala, Aman Farook, Chantelle Ferdinands, Chathura Fernando, George Paul, Prabodini Bandara and Dinooshi Kariyawasan.


Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment