General Election-2020: Over 500,000 eligible voters; 540 candidates in Digamadulla district | Daily News


General Election-2020: Over 500,000 eligible voters; 540 candidates in Digamadulla district

According to the voters’ list-2019 of the Digamadulla District, the number of registered voters who are eligible to cast their votes in the forthcoming General Election -2020 which will be held on August 5, is 513,979.

People in the Ampara, Pottuvil, Sammanthurai and Kalmunai electorates are also entitled to vote in the forthcoming General Election. According to Ampara Assistant Election Commissioner’s Office sources, there are 177,144 registered voters in the Ampara Electorate, 168,793 in the Pottuvil Electorate, 90,405 in the Sammanthurai Electorate and 77,637 in the Kalmunai Electorate.

The 20 registered political parties and 34 independent groups with 540 candidates are vying for the forthcoming General Election from the Digamadulla District. Seven members are to be elected from the district.

The 20 registered parties contesting in the forthcoming elections are the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), the United National Party (UNP), the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), the Akila Ilankai Thamil Congress, the Ahila Ilankai Tamil Mahasabha, the Our Power of People Party, the All Ceylon Makkal Congress, the Illankai Tamil Arasu Kachchi, the Eelam People’s Democratic Party (EPDP), the United Left Front, the Janasetha Peramuna, the National Congress, the Jathika Jana Balawegaya, the National Democratic Front, the Nawa Sihala Urumaya, the Frontline Socialist Party, the Mawbima Janatha Pakshaya, the Liberal Party, the Socialist Party of Sri Lanka and the Sinhaladeepa Jathhika Peramuna and 34 independent groups.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment