When Piliyandala Central and Kalutara MV U15 final ended in a tie | Daily News


When Piliyandala Central and Kalutara MV U15 final ended in a tie

Piliyandala Central College U15 Division Two Cricket Pool 1987 : Seated (from left): Ranaweera D. Nishantha, Dinesh Chandrasoma, Sriyan Chaminda (Vice Captain), Nimal Wijewardene (Master-in-charge and coach), John Fernando (Principal), Tyronne Darmasena (captain), Malavi Arachchige Senadeera, Dinesh I. Perera. Standing (from left): Neil Madanayake, Priyantha Kathriarachchi, Nirosh I Perera, Chaminda Perera, Nalin Vithanawasam, Bimal Amarasinghe, Deepal Gunawardene, Chanaka J. Wanniarachchi, Ranmal Fonseka. 
(Picture by Dilwin Mendis Moratuwa Sports Special Correspondent)

Piliyandala Central College and Kalutara Maha Vidyalaya emerged as the joint champions of the All Island Under 15 Division Two Inter-Schools Cricket Tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association for the Astra Margarine Trophy in 1987 when the final ended in a tie. During this period the winners of the tournament received the Astra Margarine Trophy and today it is played for the Singer Trophy.

With the promotion to Division One the under 15 Centralians are participating in this tournament for the last 31 years and this year there is a strong doubt whether the tournament will function due to the outbreak of Covide-19.

The success of the Centralians was due to the untiring efforts of the then cricket loving Principal John Fernando and the then Coach cum Master in Charge of Cricket Nimal Wijewardene.

The Centralians were captained by Tyronne Darmasena and his vice captain was Sriyan Chaminda. They were strong contenders to win the trophy being unbeaten by winning all ten matches prior to the final.

Bimal Amarasinghe, Sriyan Chaminda and Dinesh Perera excelled with the bat and Nirosh Perera, Dinesh Chandrasoma and A. Senadeera with the ball. For Kalutara Vidyalaya Sanjeewa Warusamana and Keerthi Jayaweera excelled as all rounders and A. Lenora and R. Vajira as bowlers.

The venue for this final was Prince of Wales’ College grounds, Moratuwa with a lot of spectators from both schools.

The Kalutara lads batted first and were skittled out for a paltry 66 runs in 32.4 overs with a fine bowling spell of 5 for 13 from A Senadeera supported by Dinesh Chandrasoma and Nirosh Perera who took the remaining five wickets between them.

In reply Centralians too were bowled out for an identical score in 32.1 overs with a very fine bowling spell from A. Lenora who took 7 for 37 and ably supported by R. Vajira who captured 3 for 23.

The significant achievement was that the Kalutara lads won the under 15 division three title in 1986 and became division two joint champions the following year.


Kalutara MV 66 (32.4) (A. Naminda 18, K. D. Chandrasoma 3/21, A. Senadeera 5/13, I. Perera 2/1)

Piliyandala Central 66 (32.1) (Sriyan Chaminda 10, D. I. Perera 14, Lenora 7/37, Vajira 3/23)


Visit Kapruka.com Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment