Batsmen should dominate Rahula-Sumangala game | Daily News


22nd Battle of the Golds

Batsmen should dominate Rahula-Sumangala game

The much awaited cricket encounter between Wariyapola Sri Sumangala (St. Paul’s) College and Sri Rahula College called the Battle of the Gold’s will take place for the 22nd time today and tomorrow at the Pallekele International Stadium. They are two of the oldest schools in Kandy.

Cricket is one of the major sports at the two schools. Sri Sumangala has a long history which is over 140 years old originating under the name St. Paul’s College as a junior school of Trinity College. They first played cricket in 1894. The school gave up the sport and after an 87-year-long layoff; they re-started cricket in 1981. This was largely due to the efforts of former Sri Lanka cricketer and Kandy Municipal Council Commissioner the late D.H. de Silva. He coached them to play cricket. Special mention must be made of D.D.T. Alwis, a long time coach.

Sri Rahula College Katugastota is also one of the oldest cricket playing schools having started the game of cricket in 1890’s but gave it up a few years later and were more involved with football, athletics and hockey. However, in the 1970’s they returned to playing cricket. A big hand should go to late Aubrey Kuruppu, who did his best as coach. Aubrey is a former S. Thomas’ College, Combined Schools, University of Peradeniya, Saracens SC, Central Province and Sri Lanka President’s XI cricketer and cricket commentator. He trained many cricketers to come up in the game, unfortunately though, when they come up to under 17 level they are snatched by other schools.

It is going to be two good days of cricket if the weather stays good with batsmen expected to dominate the game. The luck of the coin will go a long way in deciding the outcome of the match.

The present teams of both schools are well balanced and a good game of cricket is expected. Some of the Sri Sumangala players who should do well are W.M. Chamara Lasantha Bandara, G.G. Shemel Neradiya, N.G.B.S. Nellige, W.A.R.S. Roshan, E.M. Tenuka Tissera Ekanayake, M. Bimsara and Sri Rahula will depend much on players like Dilshan Arambegedara, Dhanajaya Bandara, Chamudika Abeyratne, Tharindu Fonseka and Lahiru Wijeratne.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment