Twenty-four independent groups make deposits | Daily News


Parliamentary Election -2020

Twenty-four independent groups make deposits

Twenty-four independent groups have made deposits for the Parliamentary Election -2020 as at Friday, March 6.

According to the Election Commission, the deposits have been made for Colombo (2 groups), Gampaha (1), Kalutara (2), Jaffna (6), Vanni (5), Batticaloa (3), Trincomalee (1), Puttalam (2), Galle (1) and Nuwara-Eliya (1) districts.

As per the provisions of Section 10 of the Parliamentary Elections Act, the Election Commission will accept deposits from the independent groups only till 12.00 noon on March 19, when the acceptance of nominations is concluded. It is required to place an amount of Rs.2000 as deposits in respect of each contestant from such groups with the District Returning Officer on working weekdays during office hours. There is no requirement for the recognized political parties to make any deposit for the general election, the Election Commission said. 

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment