Qatar bans travellers from Sri Lanka, 13 other countries | Daily News

Qatar bans travellers from Sri Lanka, 13 other countries

The State of Qatar has temporarily suspended entry to people arriving from 14 countries, including Sri Lanka, due to concerns over the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19), according to a statement issued by the Qatar Government Communications Office on Sunday. In addition to Qatar Airways announcement regarding flights to and from Italy, entry to the State of Qatar is temporarily suspended for all those intending to travel from certain countries, as of March 9, 2020.

This decision comes as a preventive measure due to the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19) worldwide.

The decision includes the following countries: Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand, the statement said. This step comes in line with the State of Qatar’s efforts to take all necessary preventive measures to limit the spread of Coronavirus, the statement explained.

These precautionary measures may be subject to further updates based on the latest guidance of the national health authorities and international organisations on the spread of Coronavirus, in order to ensure the safety of all residents of the State of Qatar, it further said.

Travel ban to Sri Lanka and 13 other countries (13:13)
Qatar has temoporarily banned arrivals from 14 countries as a precaution against spreding COVID-19.
The travel ban was announced by the Qatar government on Sunday.
The ban has been imposed to Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, China, Thailand, South Korea, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Syria, Lebanon.
Source- Bangkok Post

Add new comment