Roland Perera, Janaka Pathirana at the helm of Kandy DCA | Daily News


Roland Perera, Janaka Pathirana at the helm of Kandy DCA

Roland Perera, a well known cricketer, coach, and administrator was elected president of the Kandy District Cricket Association at the Annual General Meeting held last Saturday. A new committee was picked, at their office at Asgiriya. Perera took over the presidency from Thilina Tennakoon.

The new committee with the backing of the Central Province Cricket Association is all-out to bring back domestic club cricket to its earlier position. At the moment club cricket in Kandy is stagnant. Last year too the Kandy District CA tried to organize domestic tournaments but failed due to lack of grounds and sponsors. Now the Kandy District CA has planned to bring back all the former tournaments back to the field.

Perera is all-out to give his best with the support of his new committee. A former Sylvestrian, he played for the school as an attractive left-hand batsman, left-arm spinner and excelled in the covers where he never allowed anything to go past him. He also represented the Central Province School in the inter-zonal cricket tournament organized by the Observer in the 1970’s. After leaving school he played for Moors SC in the P. Sara trophy cricket tournament which was then the highest level of club cricket. Later he took wings to the Middle East for greener pastures. He continued his cricket in the Gulf before returning in the early 1980’s. As a coach he helped St. Sylvester’s College to become all island schools division one Coca Cola League champions in 1994 for the first time and at that time they were the second school to do so from Kandy after St. Anthony's College in 1991. So, much is expected from him and his committee to bring back cricket to its former position where it was at club level.

Janaka Pathirana, is the newly CPCA secretary, a well known motor racer and a rugby promoter. He is also a product of St. Sylvester’s College. He played for the school and Kandy Youth SC.

The new committee comprises: President - Roland Perera, Immediate Past President - Thilina Tennakoon, Vice Presidents - Malcolm Perera, Amith Wanigasekera, Tuan Dole, Sagara Tennakoon, V. Sumanasekera, General Secretary - Janaka Pathirana, Assistant Secretary - C.N. Dissanayake, Treasurer – Chandra Mahawatte, Assistant Treasurer - Tissa Jayasinghe, Cricket Secretary - Anton Perera, Media Coordinator - Hafiz Marikar, Chairman Tournament Committee - Maliyadeva Munasinghe, Schools Representative - Lenin Jayasinghe, Tournament Committee - Jaliya Munasinghe, Lalith Chandrasena, M. D. Jazeel, A. Suraweera, M. Alvitigala, Selection Committee - Malcolm Perera (chairman), C.N. Dissanayake, Laxman Panditharatna, Coaching Committee – Amith Wanigasekera, Palitha Thilakasiri, L. Panditharatna, C.N.Dissanayake, Dileepa Wijekoon, Development Committee - Roland Perera, Janaka Pathirana, Chandra Mahawatte, Thilina Tennakoon and R.Divakaran, Discipline Committee - Tuan Dole (chairman), Chamalka Abeyratne Bandara, Senarath Jayasundera, Patrons: Minister of Sports, President Sri Lanka Cricket, Harindra Dunuwila and Deva Amunugama.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment