Southern Province: Nominations from 150 candidates for 47 seats | Daily News


Youth Parliament – 2020:

Southern Province: Nominations from 150 candidates for 47 seats

Following the calling of nominations for Youth Parliament – 2020, 150 candidates have submitted nomination papers for the 47 seats in the Southern Province on February 12 and 13.

According to the National Youth Service Act, 356 members are elected to the Youth Parliament.

This includes 334 members elected on the basis of one from each Divisional Secretariat division and 22 from higher education institutes. A total of 150 candidates would contest for the 19 seats in the Galle District, Galle Assistant Director D. J. Mahinda said. Meanwhile, Matara Assistant Director N.D. Jayasekara said 64 nomination papers had been received for 16 seats in the Matara District. A total of 34 candidates will contest for the 12 seats in the Hambantota District, Hambantota Assistant Director Janaka Hettiarachchi said.

The Youth Parliament election will be held at the respective Divisional Secretariats on February 22.


Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment