Four MoUs to promote tourism | Daily News


Four MoUs to promote tourism

The Minister of Tourism will sign four Memorandum of Understandings (MoU) to promote Tourism with China, Iraq, Pakistan and Estonia said Minister of Industrial Export and Investment Promotion and Minister of Tourism and Civil Aviation, Prasanna Ranatunga.

The Ministry has received Cabinet approval in this regard. “In addition, we also hope to sign similar tourism promotional agreements with South Africa and Georgia said Minister Ranatunga added.

The minister however said that due to the ongoing Coronavirus threat the signing of these agreements will be delayed for a short period.

Sri Lankan tourism currently has 10 MoUs with India, Thailand, Seychelles, Poland, Tajikistan, Malaysia, Australia, Russia, South Korea, and the Philippines. The objectives of signing these MoUs are to jointly promote tourism by forming special joint committees. In some instances, developed countries also offer financial assistance when these MoUs are signed. The Minister said that these agreements are very essential during a crisis as developed countries tend to provide financial aid and other assistance to smaller countries like Sri Lanka.

Last year, Sri Lankan tourism had the largest arrivals from India, China, Germany, United Kingdom, Australia, Maldives, and France. “The aim is to make Sri Lanka the number one destination for tourists. To meet this objective we are also looking at appointing marketing representatives and marketing agencies in China, India, Middle East, Russia, and Ukraine which has high tourism potential.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment