Janul and Vignesh shine at WESPA Youth Cup 2019 | Daily News


Janul and Vignesh shine at WESPA Youth Cup 2019

The victorious Lankan English Scrabble team
The victorious Lankan English Scrabble team

Janul de Silva of Royal College emerged as the 1 st Runner-up whilst Vignesh Pirapaharan of Lyceum International School, Panadura was placed 6th at the 14th World English Scrabble Players’ Association (WESPA) Youth Cup (previously known as World Youth Scrabble Championship) held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia recently.

190 players from 18 countries including UK, USA, Australia and Hong Kong participated at this year’s championship which was won by Tarin Pairor of Thailand.

Janul with his 2019 performance completed a hat-trick of 1 st runner-up achievements at the WESPA Youth Cup following his achievements in Kuala Lumpur (2017) and Dubai (2018). Together with the 4 th place he achieved in Perth (2015), Janul became the most consistent performer in the 14 year history of the WESPA Youth Cup.

Vignesh who was placed 8 th in Kuala Lumpur (2017) has been another consistent performer for the Sri Lankan youth team narrowly missing out on top 10 achievements on three occasions. Both

Vignesh and Janul participated in their 6 th and final WESPA Youth cups.

The achievements of Janul, Vignesh and Nimuthu Witharana of Richmond College who came 20 th saw Sri Lanka ending up with the same number of wins as Thailand and Singapore in the battle for the Best National Team. Thailand emerged as the Best National Team for 2019, based on margins while Sri Lanka was 2 nd followed by Singapore. Sri Lanka has been dominant in the Best National Team category since 2015, winning it 3 years in a row from 2015 to 2017 before narrowly missing out in 2018 to Pakistan.

The Sri Lankan team this year also included Radinka Dissanayake (Bishops College), Qays Sangani (Royal College), Adheesha Dissanayake (Gateway College), Hasali Ratnayake (Girls High School, Kandy), Sarindu Willadarage (Richmond College), Kalpana Seneviratne (Sacred Heart Convent) and Raguparan Ilanpoornan (S. Thomas’ College).

Add new comment