National junior badminton squad departs for Surabaya | Daily News


National junior badminton squad departs for Surabaya

National junior badminton team with officials
National junior badminton team with officials

Even before the senior national team makes a triumphant return to the island with a historic gold, silver and bronze medal haul they bagged during the South Asian Games in Nepal, a 12-member Junior Badminton squad is set to depart for Surabaya, Indonesia to participate in the Badminton Asia Junior U-17 and U-15 Championships.

This busy schedule for Badminton mirrors once again the utmost commitment of Sri Lanka Badminton management led by its indefatigable President, Rohan De Silva, who has over the last six months transformed the sport from just another back-room affair to one that is now very much in the limelight.

The participation of the Junior Team is significant because it underlines the investment in the future. No more do players go begging for funds themselves to join such a tour as the governing body of the sport, Sri Lanka Badminton now finances all expenses and provides all necessities for the whole squad so that they can leave with dignity and confidence to represent their motherland.

The Lankan squad, coached by Subhash Janaka, will be hoping for positive results at the championships in which a strong competition is expected. Sri Lanka Badminton hopes the Juniors will repeat what their seniors did in Nepal, and wishes them best of luck as the future of badminton in Sri Lanka takes shape.

Sri Lanka contingent for Badminton Asia Junior U-17 and U-15 Championships in Surabaya:

Boys: Manthuka Rupathunge (Lyceum International School, Wattala), Savinaka Weerasekera (Vidura College, Thalawatugoda), Lehan Yasas (St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa), Kaviru Sajith (Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda), Ashinna Herath (Royal College, Colombo), Agra Hewage (Royal College, Colombo).

Girls: Senuji Umagiliyage (Sanghamitta Balika Vidyalaya, Galle), Ranithma Liyange (Christ Church Girls College, Galle), Thiyana Vidanarachchi (Lyceum International School, Nugegoda), Panchali Adhikari (Mahamaya Balika Vidyalaya, Kandy), Dasithma Jayathillake ( Sacred Heart Convent, Galle), Sasini Kumarapeliarachchi (Lyceum International School, Nugegoda).

Officials: H Asanka Wijesurendra, Sumthra Dissanayake, Subhash Janaka (Coach).

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.


Add new comment