Ocean Lanka wins Mercantile Volleyball Super League Championship | Daily News

Ocean Lanka wins Mercantile Volleyball Super League Championship

The champions Ocean Lanka team
The champions Ocean Lanka team

Ocean Lanka Men’s volleyball team outlasted Courtaulds Clothing Lanka in a pulsating final to win the Super League Champions title at the 8th edition of the Mercantile Volleyball Championship. The result handed Ocean Lanka the second title in the last two editions of the tournament.

Ocean Lanka lost the opening set before storming back to a 3-1 triumph (23-25, 25-23, 25-21, 25-17) at the Maharagama National Youth Services Council Indoor Stadium.

Vice captain Gayan Mallikarathna was adjudged the Best Player, while fellow team mates Ravindu Chathuranga, Mohammed Meesan and Ajith Kumara received Best Setter, Best Spiker and Best Blocker awards respectively.

“This Championship means all our hard work and passion for the sport. We are extremely grateful for our coaches, supporting staff and most of all, the backing received from the Ocean Lanka Management and staff,” said Ocean Lanka’s Team Manager Ruwansiri Mallikarachchi after the finals.

After winning the Championship category last year, Ocean Lanka featured in the Super League category this year. The winning team included Buddhika Bandara (captain), Gayan Mallikarathna (vice-captain), Ajith Kumara, Ashen Peiris, Chathuranga Rajapaksha, Damith Fernando, Mohammed Meesan, Pasindu Sandaruwan, Ravindu Chathuranga, Solomon Madushan and Supun Chandana.

Add new comment