Sahan Rajapaksha crowned Benedictine Sportsman of the Year at Colours Night | Daily News

Sahan Rajapaksha crowned Benedictine Sportsman of the Year at Colours Night

Benedictine Sportsman of the year Sahan Rajapaksha receiving his award from Jeyam Perumal.
Benedictine Sportsman of the year Sahan Rajapaksha receiving his award from Jeyam Perumal.

The annual Benedictine Colours Night was held in grand style at the College Auditorium on November q. Distinguished Old Benedictine Jeyam Perumal and Mrs. Eresha Perumal were the chief guests and former Benedictine football captain Dr. Collin Fernandopulle was the guest of honour at the event. Rev. Bro. Ernest Tarcisius, Director of St. Benedict’s College started the proceedings with his welcome address immediately after the opening prayer and the singing of the College anthem.

Three hundred and seventeen sportsmen of the college received Merit Awards, Colours, Star Awards and Special Awards for their achievements in Cricket, Athletics, Football, Basketball, Gymnastics, Hockey, Rugby, Swimming, Karate, Rifle Shooting, Scouting, Tennis, Chess and Prefectship during the past year, in the presence of an auditorium full audience of parents, Rev. Fathers, Rev. Brothers, Rev. Sisters, teachers, coaches,support staff, and invitees.

Benedictine star Athlete Sahan Rajapaksha was crowned the Sportsman of the Year with Sri Lanka Under 19 cricketer Maheesh Theekshana and champion Javelin thrower Pragathi Ranawake as Joint Runners Up.

The award for the Best Sportsman of the Primary School went to Nelith Sasmitha Peter. Star Awards were presented to Benedictine sportsmen who gained national honours representing Sri Lanka in their respective sports and they included Sahiru Yoshodya Silva (gymnastics), Dharun Chandrabose (basketball), Mahesh Theekshana (cricket), M Kursheeth (football), Kevin Ranindu Silva (chess), Yohan Dhanushka Silva (athletics), Pragati Ranawake (athletics) and Thiran Ravishka Indrajith (athletics). Victor Fernando Gold Medals donated by the family members of late Old Ben Victor Fernando for the most outstanding Athlete and the most outstanding Cricketer were presented to Sahan Rajapaksha and Maheesh Theekshana.

The coveted Benedictine Spirit Award for the most courage on display at competitions was won by ruggerite and athlete Janith Eranga Seneviratne.

The Best Captain’s Award was presented to the captain of the All Island Schools Champion Gymnastic Team Sahiru Yoshodya Silva.The event also provided the opportunity for young Benedictines to showcase their artistic talents with musical and dancing items performed by the collegiate and primary students. One of the highlights of the programme was a guest performance by the students of the sister school Good Shepherd Convent through the kind courtesy of the Principal of the Convent. The entire event was streamed live on facebook with thousands from the global Benedictine fraternity watching it as it happened.

A short snapshot of the rich history of Benedictine sports over the last 150 years was shown during the event which proved to be very educative to the present students, administrators, parents, teachers and invitees. The Benedictine family is grateful to the main organisers Rev. Bro. PravinVaz, Rev. Bro. DilshanVimukthi (Sports Co-ordinator), Mr. NuwanAbeywickrema (Tutorial Staff), Mr. Lanka Amila (Technical Staff) and students led by Master Dilshan Bandara.

The Head Prefect of the College Deeshan Fernando delivered the vote of thanks. The host of the evening Binoy Perera was exceptional right from start to finish. The whole programme was indeed a display of Benedictine brilliance.

Add new comment